Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

connecting sub?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by codling, Apr 30, 2003.

  1. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    hi all,

    if using a processor in pure bypass mode for 2 ch stereo,i gather that there would be no sub line out signal to the sub.

    so could you also connect the sub using the speaker-level in and use the sub's crossover?for listening to 2 ch.

    if the is so could you tell me how to connect?

    on back of sub it has speaker level in/out the for the Right/Left.

    would you go from say the right speaker out on amp to the Right speaker in on sub,then Rigth speaker out on sub to the Right main speaker?,and the same for Left.

    or would it be best you go ~ amp L/R to main speakers L/R as normal,and run a second L/R speaker cable from amp L/R and connect them to the L/R speaker input on sub?

    cant get me head around this:confused:

    thanks carl:)
     
  2. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    help!:rotfl:
     
  3. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    What sub is it Carl? Some don't like being connected via both High & Low Level connections at the same time.
     
  4. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    hi jase

    all being well stock(if ther's any left)/funds allowing,i'll be ordering a hgs 18 off eric in a couple of weeks.
    the processer i'm getting is the bryston sp1.7.and it has pure analoge bypass for 2ch stereo so i'll have no lfe of the sub out.(i think:confused: )


    cheers carl:)
     
  5. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    In that case, bit easier as my CHT15 has pretty much the same inputs/outputs. You should be ok as long as the sub doesn't receive both the High & Low level signals at the same time.

    You can run a pair of speaker cables directly from your amp to the sub's high level input and adjust the crossover to whatever setting you want. Only drawback is that it will affect your connection at low level for movies etc (assuming you have all speakers set to small, all bass to sub). You will have to switch the subs crossover bypass in & out each time you listen to music (IN for music, OUT for movies etc).

    To save all that kerfuffle, you could just listen in a normal Stereo mode that uses the low level output, I imagine the Bryston would have one!
     
  6. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    nice one jase never thought of that:clap:

    so by doing this i'll be able to have the high level connected all of the time?
    can you just confirm that i will have 2 sets of speaker cable comming from the amp L/R?

    thanks for replying/advice

    carl :)
     
  7. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    I would run the two cables personally, one from Left and one from Right, the manual with the CHT15 says you can either do this or run your current speaker cables into the sub and another pair back out again to your speakers, using the subs high pass filter.

    Everything should be fine as long as the sub only sees one input at a time, that's the key to it. Might be worth doublechecking with Eric.:)
     
  8. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15

    apparently when in bypass mode all of the digital circutry is disabled making it analoge pre-amp.so no base management

    carl
     
  9. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15

    will do jase

    many thanks carl:)
     
  10. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    My Denon gives you a Pure Direct Mode for both digital & analogue signals but you still have the option to have the sub on or off at low level. Quite handy really but it still passes the signals to the fronts as full range.
     
  11. codling

    codling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +15
    if the 1.7 also has this option,i should just be able to just flick the sub's crossover bypass switch from,on while watching movies,to off when listening to music(using the subs crossover).
    hope so it will make thing easier.

    carl:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice