Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

connecting speakers to DSP-A2

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by NaTT, Jun 24, 2003.

  1. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    Ratings:
    +77
    It's an old 'un but good 'un. I'm thinking of upgrading it now, but darn these forums, I only looked here to ask this question...

    The DSP-A2 don't take bannana plugs or spades in the back. It's got pretty strong screw in binding posts but I'd love to have better connections there because:
    A) Surely it give a better signal?
    B) (And I'll be honest this is the key one) I'll know it's tidier and sexier back there

    So has anyone come up with any ideas for this, while resisting the urge to upgrade?
     
  2. wookie

    wookie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Yamaha had plastic caps over the posts stopping me using banana plugs.
    They just pulled off! exposing the 4mm holes for bany plgs.
    Have a look your rear end.
    Plugs/spades etc are no better than clean cable.
     
  3. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +178
    i had a yammy dsp a2 and it wouldn't take banana plugs. afaik, plugs will give a better performance but i have never heard a difference. as far as it looking "sexier", thats down to your sexual preference but it sure does make changing things around easier
     
  4. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Clean cable ends may offer connection properties as good as plugs/spades/bananas initially,but take a look at the bare cables after a couple of weeks oxidising happily at the back of the average amplifier.
    Also,plugs and spades etc are a much easier and more reliable way of connecting heavier duty cables to amplifiers,and whilst I know it may not be appropriate to the DSP-A2,I wouldnt use bare cable ends as reliable low resistance connections long term.
    There are plenty of good cheap examples(from Maplins) as well as the likes of WBT.
     
  5. Mogli

    Mogli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +135
    I am sure the A2 is like most Yamaha amps.. They can take banana plugs just at the top of each speaker terminal. There is a thin layer of plastic. So when i had yamaha 730 i took a little knife and made four little slits in the N,S,E,W positions and then just pushed the banana plug through.

    saves you pulling off the the speaker terminal covers and is a very easy to do.

    Cheers,

    Mog
     
  6. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +38
    www.videotec.co.uk can upgrade you to banana sockets for £49.99.

    They do various conversions of amps and laser disks etc.

    They do sockets for the following Yams :-

    Yamaha DSP-A1

    Yamaha DSP-A2

    Yamaha DSP-A3090

    Yamaha DSP-A2070

    Yamaha DSP-A1092

    Yamaha DSP-E1000

    Yamaha DSP-A990 / 970

    Yamaha RX-V2090

    Gus
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice