Connecting Sky+ to LE32R41BDx

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by DU02, Aug 2, 2005.

Tags:
  1. DU02

DU02

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just setting up my new Samsung LE32R41BD, I'm a bit of a noob at this so apologies for any stupid questions.
    Connected my Sony DVD (nothing special) via S-video and picture looked very nice indeed. Connected my Sky+ by same s-video cable and the picture looks pretty poor. Connected by Scart (bog standard cheapo cable) and picture quality is pretty much exactly the same. Changing RGB/PAL setting in Sky menu makes no difference (but then my Scart cable is probably not RGB so that would be why)

I was expecting the S-video picture from my Sky+ to be noticably better than the standard scart but it really isn't. Any suggestions? The s-video cable i'm using is good quality, gold plated connectors, can't remember make..but picture looked ace from DVD so I don't think there's a problem with the cable.

Thanks for any advice
    Chris

2. richard plumb

richard plumb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,046
    does Sky+ have svideo output? My normal sky box only has RGB or composite.

I had to feed that into an RGB-svideo converter before going into my TV. (I was switching, and needed all s-video)

try an RGB SCART cable to see if you get a better picture. If you need to use svideo for some reason, then you may need a converter.

3. DU02

DU02

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes sky+ has a dedicated s-video output.
    The scart cable i'm using is a fully wired cable so does that mean I am definately getting RGB when it is selected in the sky menu (and connected to the RGB scart socket on the tv)?
    If so why is there no difference in picture quality depending on whether i select PAL/RGB in sky or plug it into the non-RGB scart socket on the tv?
    Is a better quality cable really going to make a noticeable difference?

4. thunt