1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting Sky to Bedroom - Help

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Gliese 581c, May 25, 2005.

  1. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    I have just finished running a coax cable under my floor, up the wall and through the ceiling to my bedroom to watch sky on my lcd in there.

    Prob I have is that the coax wont run audio, will it ? It will only carry picture ? - If so, anyway around this, or will I have to feed audio cables through also ?

    One final question, what connectors am I looking for to connect to the coax cable ends ? I think they are called 'F' connectors ? Not sure what to pick up but I'll be connecting it to my 2nd out on Receiver into Ariel socket on the tv.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    Not sure about the connectors but the coax will feed audio.

    John
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,734
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    Yes it will, this is called an RF connection.

    They're called "Coaxial connectors" (or coax as they're generally known).
    You will need a female connector at the Satellite end (or a coax plug and coax coupler) and a coax plug at the Tv end.
    Tune your Tv to channel 68 (the default chan Sky digiboxes are set to).
    An "F" connector is the type of plug fitted to the dish downlead.
     
  4. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read this http://www.satcure.co.uk/digifaq2.htm#menus
    This should help you understand what goes on in rf out of the digibox.
    This will allow you to fine tune it, sometimes it's better to change the rf output to a channel at least +5/-5 away from existing rf signals .
    Check the site out, all the answers to all the questions! :lesson:
     
  5. derbyjj

    derbyjj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainhill
    Ratings:
    +19
    It will be mono sound and you can get the connectors at wilkinson B&Q etc
     
  6. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    thanks guys :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...