1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting Sky+, Plasma and PS2

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by cs64631, Jan 29, 2005.

1. cs64631

cs64631

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please could somebody help me. :lease:

I am very new to this and have ended up with a range of equipment and no real idea on how to connect them up. I apologise if this has been posted before but I have been searching the internet for days and asking in Richer Sounds where I bought everything and am still no further.

The list of stuff I have is:

Relisys 4206 - inputs are RGB Scart, composite, component and S-Video
    Sky+
    Playstation 2
    Sony VCR with scart in/out and composite in/out
    Yamaha RX-V650 Amp

I want to get the best sound and picture that I can. Richer sounds sold me a component cable for £100 a couple of days ago but that seems to be no help whatsoever. The bit I do know is that I want to connect the PS2 and Sky+ box with digital audio leads.

If anybody could guide me through this nightmare I would be more than grateful.

2. andyAV

andyAV

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Taking audio first
    ...Cheapest would be (assuming you have these leads already)
    1. SKy+ --phono-->AMP
    2. PS2 --phono-->AMP
    3. VCR --phono-->AMP

Needs 3 pairs of audio phono cables. You could get by with what came with each piece of kit in the short term until you knew what needed replacing with digital connections.

...Best would be
    1. SKy+ --digital optical-->AMP
    2. PS2 --digital? optical-->AMP
    3. VCR : as above

requiring one or two digital connections - I'm not sure if the PS2 is optical or coaxial digital - probably the former. Optical leads are cheap - don't spend silly money - a £5 lead is as good as a £50 lead IMHO.

Taking video next
    ...Cheapest and easiest