1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connecting sky digital to a sony kv32dx dvb tv

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by mkendall, Oct 22, 2001.

  1. mkendall

    mkendall
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do i connect my sky digital to my new sony dvb
    the sony has two ariel sockets?
    one has to be the main ariel of which my sky digi box wants the main ariel
    i also have video recorder and dvd player very confusing?
    any help please

    thanks
    mike

    :confused:
     
  2. PeteM

    PeteM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +4
    Easy.

    Connect the TV ariel to the Sony's ariel input - for the best quality signal. Connect the Sony's ariel out to your VCR. The VCR will form the end of the ariel chain.

    There is no need to connect a TV antenna to the Sky Digibox - that is simply there for people with old fashioned TVs that don't have scart sockets!

    On the TV, connect scart 3 to your VCR.

    Connecting the Digibox and DVD player to your TV is more complicated - only scart 1 accepts RGB. If your DVD has full pass through (2 scarts passing through all signals from one scart to the other when in standby), daisy chain the digibox to the DVD player and then on to scart 1 of the TV.

    If you don't have the ability to loop through the DVD player, you will need to either purchase a scart switch box or alternatively set the DVD player to output S-Video and connect this to TV scart 2, with scart 1 being used by the digibox.

    Oh the second scart connector on the digibox should be connected to the second scart on your VCR (assuming it has one, otherwise you are a bit stuck!).
     
  3. mkendall

    mkendall
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks petem
    i will use your advice
    do you have the sony tv?
     
  4. PeteM

    PeteM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes I have a Sony IDTV - 28DX20 to be precise.

    Generally I'm happy with it (in terms of picture quality), however I believe it could be better.

    - Software reliability.
    - performance of CAM module -> so slow!

    My girlfriend has a new Philips IDTV, so I have done side by side comparisons. I prefer the picture quality of the Sony, although the Philips is very likeable to look at. However her Philips is so fast at switching between pay channels, its almost embarassing....

    Her teletext engine is also far superior!
     
  5. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Below is the usual response i give. It is copied and pasted so excuse the generic nature.
    --------------------------

    Various ways to connect depending on what you think is acceptable.

    option 1 - RGB for both DVD and digibox but need to record via the RF.
    Audio carried from TV to Amp and DVD to amp (TV passes audio from vcr and
    digibox)

    DVD > Digibox VCR scart ( use scart lead, set DVD to output RGB)
    Digibox > TV (use scart lead into RGB scart socket)
    Video > TV (scart lead into composite scart socket - Don't use an expensive
    cable, it would be wasted)
    Aerial > digibox > vcr > TV

    DVD > Amp (using digital co-ax or optical -identical quality, depends on
    your available connections)
    TV > Amp (using 2x phono connection)
    -----------------------------------------
    Option 2 - RGB for digibox and s-video for DVD. Allows recording via the
    scart. Audio the same as above

    DVD > TV (scart into s-video scart)
    Digibox > TV (scart into RGB scart)
    Digibox > VCR (composite scart - Don't use expensive cable for this one)
    Aerial > digibox > vcr > TV

    DVD > Amp (using digital co-ax or optical -identical quality, depends on
    your available connections)
    TV > Amp (using 2x phono connection)
    ------------------------------------------

    Option 3 - TV doesn't pass audio or doesn't pass it with decent quality.
    Will require manual switching between sources. Use video connections as
    option 1 or 2.

    DVD > Amp (using digital co-ax or optical -identical quality, depends on
    your available connections)
    TV > Amp (using 2x phono connection)
    VCR > Amp (using 2x phono connection)
    Digibox > Amp (using 2x phono connection)
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    The slow channel change is due to the el-cheapo OnDigital CAM

    I have been informed that after market CAMs are better
     
  7. PeteM

    PeteM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +4
    Of course the trouble with the el-cheapo OnDigital CAM is that come next March when my free introductory 6 channels for a year offer runs out, I will become one of the churn statistics.

    There is no way I would pay full price (even before the forthcoming price rise) for such poor (slow) performance.

    I haven't decided if I will get an ITV STB or upgrade my analogue cable to Digital - I expect the later! (Sky Digital is not an option due to the owner of my house having a dislike of satelite dishes).
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Itv Digital boxes - horrible things - ok for video tuners I suppose. Get an after market (Aston I think) CAM.

    The quality is so much better with a Sony IDTV.

    The Sony tuner is among the best DVB-T tuners
     

Share This Page

Loading...