1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting PW6, E55 DVDR and Sky - please help.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by arthur, Nov 7, 2004.

1. arthur

arthur

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly, apologies for yet another "how do I connect...." post. I am a newbie (this is my first post). I have read MANY MANY of the threads in this forum, and have digested much useful advice which has taken me a long way down the decision process, but I am afraid am still not 100% certain that I have understood all that I need to, hence this post. Thanks in advance for any help.

I’m basically starting from scratch. The new set up I want (I think) is a 42” plasma with a DVD Recorder and an old Sky box (probably replaced with Sky+ soon). That's it. Very simple by some of the standards I have read on this forum! I’m not bothered about analogue tv reception, nor particularly at the moment about home cinema surround sound, although I would like to know that I can add an AV amp and 5.1 speakers at some point.

So, what I have in mind at the moment is a Panasonic TH42PWD6 plasma and a Panasonic DMR-E55 DVD recorder. What I'd like to get clear with your help is the easiest/cheapest decent way to connect this lot together with the Sky box.

My understanding, mainly from various posts by Hornydragon, is that I will be able to connect Sky/Sky+ to the E55 via RGB scart. Then I connect the E55 to the plasma via either RGB scart or (preferably) component video (to get progressive scan), and that will be all the video connections I need (i.e. no need for a separate scart direct from the Sky to the Plasma, since the E55 can pass through the RGB signal from the Sky scart to the composite output, right?).