Connecting ps3 with sony dav home cinema system

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by sunny200350, Jan 17, 2008.

1. sunny200350

sunny200350

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Im very new to this, but ive recently bought a sony DAVDZ830W, I got the DVD working with the surround, but i cant seem to connect the Ps3 with the optical connection. Can someone please help in very simplifeid step what i got to do. Thanks:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::lease::lease::lease:

2. The Atheist

The Atheist

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +401
    You need to connect the optical from the PS3 to the optical in on the sony DAVDZ830W, then make sure the PS3 is set to output its audio via optical (via the audio settings on the PS3's menu). You may also need to make sure the sony DAVDZ830W is set to receive audio via optical.

3. MarkTaylor

MarkTaylor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +662
    Just before we get too far into this, given that the DAV does not appear to have any HDMI inputs I presume you are not hoping to get any of the HD sound formats from blu-ray played on your PS3, just good old fashioned DD and DTS?

As long as that bit is clear then we can progress, are you having problems physically connecting the cable or is it that you get no sound when it is connected?

If the latter then you will need to set the PS3 to output sound over optical, if that has been done then it should be working.

Is the PS3 linked to a TV by HDMI or something else?

4. sunny200350

sunny200350

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0