1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting PS2 to Sanyo Z1 Projector

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by dfield2000, Dec 23, 2003.

  1. dfield2000

    dfield2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm sure this must have been asked before - so appologies in advance - but I've done a search and I can't find the answer I'm looking for.

    I'll be receiving my Sonyo Z1 projector in a week, and I need to know that best way to hook up a PS2 to it.

    I presume the best way to output a signal from the PS2 is RGB Scart, but there is no scart on the Z1. If you have one of those adaptor leads that has a S-Vid connection, does the PS2 actually output a S-Vid signal ? Do you have to change some setting in the PS2 menu to tell it you have s-vid lead plugged in the back instead of RGB ? Can I use the component input of the projector ? If so, can someone let me know where I could get the right lead ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    connected my x-box and dreamcast to my Z1 via s-video as I found that there was little difference between the two -S and RGB).

    As s-video was easier I went for that.

    Oh and Pro evolution soccer 3 is awesome on a big screen.

    Cap:)
     
  3. dfield2000

    dfield2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    Are you saying that you can connect a console to the Z1 via RGB ? How do you do that ?
     
  4. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    You can get a mini svhs plug lead or someone does a ps2 to component lead as well, I'm sure some one will say were shortly.

    Dave.
     
  5. HappyLad

    HappyLad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. dfield2000

    dfield2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    That looks like the one I need. Thanks everyone.
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you can get YUV cables for PS2 IXOS do some i think!
    YOu may be in need of a component switcher mate!
     
  8. HappyLad

    HappyLad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please elaborate...
    I think I may need something like this soon.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    allow more than one YUV source to connect to PJ at once!
     
  10. HappyLad

    HappyLad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have these things??
    If so are they cheap??
     
  11. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +218
    I have a scart switch box (Quattro +) £70ish.

    My GC, xbox and free view scart cables all feed into that. Out from tyhe quattro+ comes a scart and in it goes into a RGB Scart to Component converter. One component lead then goes to projector.

    I decided to go the scart switch box way because scart is more available in the UK so I thought it would be easier to plug new things into it.

    Here's a site that sells a few types of switch box and converters. Switch box is called quintro ...looks like a silver version of my black quatrro.

    http://www.av-sales.co.uk/html/convertors.html
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    there is one in the gaming forum for about £10 its a composite+stereo but works fine for YUV too!
     

Share This Page

Loading...