1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting PJ to sky

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Jack's Dad, Dec 27, 2004.

  1. Jack's Dad

    Jack's Dad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just set up my Screenplay 4805 to Pioneer 575 via component and picture quality is brilliant.
    I was only going to use the PJ for dvd but as I have a sky digital box kicking around (Amstrad) I thought it might be good to hook this up so I can watch TV.
    I've cabled digital, component and SVideo leads to the PJ which is ceiling mounted, but my sky box doesn't output SVideo.
    How do I go from the scart on my sky box to SVideo on the PJ?
    Thanks in advance for help.
     
  2. Dazzler2409

    Dazzler2409
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try a RBG scart to component video convertor (about £80 from Keene, Lektropaks etc)

    I have done this in order to use AV receiver to switch from DVD and Sky to save on sending scart up to pj.
     
  3. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
  4. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Does using your AV amp as a switching device compromise on picture quality? Bit academic for me as the DSP-A5 only takes s-video but at one point I did consider going this route, but then decided a dedicated lead from source to projector was preferable...PJ
     
  5. Baz1

    Baz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Workingon, Cumbria.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi There,
    I also have the Infocus 4805, and the only way of getting the best picture from SKY or Freeview is RGB (Scart) through a JS Tech Component converter.
    I have tried the 80 pound RGB to component converter and I sent it back.
    The JS is alot more, but you do get what you pay for, try this and you will NOT be disapointed
     
  6. Jack's Dad

    Jack's Dad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the info guys.
    It seems I need to invest in a converter - they seem pretty steep for what they are.
     
  7. binbag

    binbag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +81
    How about waiting for a suitable deal on a Sky+ box? Then you can keep n' show your favourite shows. S- Vid and 5.1 source from the box and for most packages £30 per month and above it's at no extra cost.

    As you can tell I think it's a great bit of kit. I got mine on Ebay.
     
  8. asimm

    asimm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +75
    I have Sky + to the 4805 (and sky movies in DD through a sony DVD home ent system). The sky picture is great in movies and in general tv (even in SVHS). Football looks dodgy and I need to investigate. I agree with previous posts - a converter will cost about as much as SKY + - you get SVHS and a PVR!
     

Share This Page

Loading...