Connecting Pioneer DVR-220S to IDTV

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Stuart Brooks, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. Stuart Brooks

    Stuart Brooks
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems that on the Pioneer DVR-220S there isn't a way to select AV1 as an input, and on the Philips IDTV I'm trying to connect it to, digital channel output is only on the SCART which doesn't accept RGB input. Therefore it seems that in order to record DTT and to play it back two SCART leads are required between the IDTV and the DVDR. Has anyone else come across this?
     
  2. laser

    laser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +46
    Hi

    I have a DVR-220S and Panasonic Freeview decoder. You do need to connect the Freeview decoder to AV2 and select L1 to record off it. AV1 is used for output only. All the setup pictures in the manual only show an output from AV1 to the TV (unless I've missed something).

    Is there a particular reason you are trying to connect a Freeview decoder to AV1?

    BTW Very impressed with the pic quality and recordings from Freeview when the decoder and 220 are set to RGB. The internal analogue tuner is a bit of duffer and looks really crap on plasma and LCD

    :eek:
     
  3. Stuart Brooks

    Stuart Brooks
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's an IDTV and the Pioneer only outputs RGB on AV1.
     
  4. laser

    laser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +46
    OK.

    What is connected to AV2 then?
     
  5. Stuart Brooks

    Stuart Brooks
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    VCR. But using AV2 as the sole connection to the TV means that you lose any sort of playback of DVDs, it's an In only. Also the lack of two-way RGB in any individual SCART socket on the TV means that you need 2 SCART connections between the two. The VCR would then need to be connected through the TV's 3rd SCART.
     
  6. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Get a separate Freeview box (circa £30), connect to AV2 then use this for recording. This lets you record in RGB, record whilst TV is off and lets you watch one Freeview channel whilst recording another.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice