1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting NEC VR5 to SCART

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by jasonf, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. jasonf

    jasonf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    About to take the plunge and order a VR5 put I'm confused about the
    SCART connection.

    I know I need a SCART to 4BNC cable, but searching through the forum I've seen references to RGB + composite sync and RGB + horizontal sync which
    is it ? (or am I completely stupid and they are the same thing!!!)

    Thanks in advance

    JasonF
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Well they are not 'the same thing' signal wise, but the cable will be connected the same inside the scart plug. Scart is RGB and composite, but is connected to H-sync on the plasma usually, RTFM on this one, and you probably need to set up for this signal in the screen menu.
     
  3. Bearded_Malc

    Bearded_Malc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    SCART gives you RGB + Composite video (CVBS). The composite video is used for the sync (composite sync, both Horizontal and Vertical). I suppose it might be just the sync signal in RGB mode but I'd guess it would be the video too. The VR5 will accept that signal. The PW7 vga connector won't. It needs TTL level Horizontal and Vertical sync (or composite TTL sync I think). Either way you need a box like JS-VGA to create TTL level syncs from CVBS. Perhaps that is where the confusion is? Or it could be the fact that the VR5 uses the same connector for composite sync or the H with H + V syncs.

    I hope that answers your questions. With 4 wires it has to be combined sync, RGBS. You need 5 for RGBHV. The VR5 will take RGBHV as input but then you'd need a converter for scart. The VR5 can take 3 RGB scart inputs with the appropriate leads.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Actually in theory the panny VGA socket can take RGBS, it's just not well implemented, it's an area NEC are known to be ahead, connectivity in general wouldn't you say?
     
  5. Bearded_Malc

    Bearded_Malc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I thought that the PW6 would do this but that the PW7 won't as the levels are now spec'ed as TLL.

    Definitely :)
     
  6. jasonf

    jasonf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So as long as I get a SCART to 4BNC I can't go wrong (right!)
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It was always iffy, Malc, terribly fussy about levels. That's how Dr Sim built a business. Scart to 4 BNC, make sure it's nothing daft, just RGB and sync. QED do one, at a rather fabulous price. I might be tempted to suggest www.lektropacks.co.uk
     
  8. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    My god they sell a lot of cables do Lektropacks. The actual page is here I think, and the product code is PSCRGBSO.
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, and about 1/2 the price of the QED. Good wire, well made stuff too. The scart plugs themselves are a bit naff, but you can't have it all.
     
  10. Bearded_Malc

    Bearded_Malc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    One thing I never understand is why you see SCART to RGB, no sync, such as this .

    How is this meant to work unless the RGB has sync on them which is not the spec AFAIK. If it were then we could plug scart straight into a panny component board which accepts RGsB (i.e. sync on green). Must be a lot of people buying these leads and throwing them away :D is all I can think.
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Nokia mediamaster is RGsB, some odd bits and pieces are. Most scart inputs work OK with this, panny component boards I don't know I've never tried, but complete boards do, and I have a client who is running RGsB from a scaler into VGA, it works just fine.

    Late addition, I of course use these kind of leads for connecting netgem freeview boxes to AV amps, they do component on scart, and those are the pins it uses.
     
  12. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Maw, you going to change your avatar once the movie comes out? :)
     
  13. jasonf

    jasonf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info Maw, I've ordered may cables (oh yeah and a plasma to connect the cable to)
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    A plasma too! Good move! My avatar is here to stay, the new marvin looks too happy.
     
  15. jasonf

    jasonf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just have to give a big :thumbsup: to Nexnix, ordered my NEC 42VR5 at 4:00pm yesterday, arrived this morning at 09:45am. Just in case your wondering I don't live next door to them. The screen has made a 250+ mile trip overnight and they chage just £10 for delivery.
     
  16. gurivan

    gurivan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kiev
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I connect 42VR5 with Scart to 4BNC cable, will I get WIDE signal autodetected? Or I will have to ajust aspect retio on VR5 manually?
     
  17. jasonf

    jasonf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will need to set manually
     

Share This Page

Loading...