Connecting N64 to Pioneer Plasma TV

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Diinky, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. Diinky

    Diinky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi All :hiya:

    Just after a bit of help please.
    I have recently purchased a N64 console and connected it up to my Pioneer KRP 500A plasma tv with a scart cable.
    Now, the picture on the tv is not great to say the least, a bit fuzzy!
    Unfortuntely the N64 console doesnt output RGB, just S Video I think.
    Is the best connection by S Video straight to the Pioneer or can I connect S Video or composite cables to my Denon 2808 amp and upscale the image?
    Would I get any lag by connecting like this?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +51
    S-Video is your next best bet but it's still not going to be great. You can go through the amp but you will incur lag - whether that's acceptable, you'll just have to try it and see. It's probably not going to be great though, it's going to do basically the same job as the Pio.

    An original, native N64 image will always look best on a CRT - if you can get access to one, its the way to go for retro gaming - Sony Trinitron 21" sets can be picked up for literally pounds nowadays.

    Another option is to RGB mod the N64? Might help get a better pic??
     
  3. Diinky

    Diinky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    thanks Loada, i think i might just sell it!
     
  4. PFMC84

    PFMC84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +390
    Isn't the output cable for the N64 the same as the one for the Gamecube? I'm pretty sure there are RGB SCART's for the Gamecube, perhaps look into getting one of them?
     
  5. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +51
    The main issue is that the PAL N64 does not output RGB without a mod (but the NTSC/USA/Jap/HK ones DO output RGB) - I'm assuming the OP's machine is PAL.
     
  6. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    I'm running my n64, NES and snes connected via composited to my amp which then sends it to hdmi to my plasma.

    I'm suffering no lag, and even on my 60" screen it looks great
     
  7. beecee

    beecee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,329
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy, Fife
    Ratings:
    +506
    UK pal machines do S-video at best, but this was removed for the later models (the coloured cased ones).
    so bog standard composit from them.

    UK pal machines CAN'T be modded for RGB, the only pal machines that could were the launch french ones. (good luck finding one of them).

    if you want RGB then its an import ntsc console you need, and even then they have to be modded for RGB and they dont do it straight from the box.
     
  8. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    Here's my n64 connected up to my 60" tv.


    Reliving my youth
     

    Attached Files:

  9. pRot3us

    pRot3us
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6,737
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,576
    You're horizontally distorting the image, you need to select 4:3 mode for a correct image.
     
  10. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    Yeah I know. Just feels good like that.

    I play the snes normally
     

Share This Page

Loading...