1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting my system together

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Legin76, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the setup below which I'd like to set up in the best way possible but am not sure what to use and the best way to do it. Any help would be appreciated.

    I have the following
    http://www.projectorcentral.com/panasonic_ae700.htm
    & a Cyrus 7 AMP
    & a DVD Player (Sony thing)
    & Sky+
    & a Media Centre PC

    I want to integrate them all and plug them in - how should I do it? What cables do I need? What would you do - I would also like to AUX it all off to my TV too so I can use that instead sometimes.

    I also would like a decent controller which would control all devices any recommendations.

    I did post this in the hardwas section but got no replys.
     
  2. lhalha

    lhalha
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    People tend to be really helpful in these and other AV forums, but when it comes to describing in detail how to wire up other peoples' whole systems - that's one area where you're not really going to have much luck I'm afraid. With respect, the best advice is to take it slowly and use trial and error to work out what works best for you!

    Cheers,

    Leon
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    AE700...OK lets go Sky via scart DVD via component and PC via Dvi or VGA (quite simple really............or am i missing something?) Pronto or H655 for control
    DOes Cyrus have video conversion or switching
     
  4. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Maybe my question is a bit misleading.. putting the cables in is not the problem.. it's knowing what cables etc that will give ne the best result on that system.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Cable types? or brands?
     
  6. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    hornydragon

    Thanks for your help. I currently only have standard cables and will be getting some new ones. I've heard quite a bit about ixos cables so will get some of those. The Cyrus 7 can not do video :( http://www.cyrus.co.uk/integrated_amps_archive.htm
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    that means its more diffcult to use TV as a secondary display,
    as regards cable dont skimp but dont go nuts either...........
     
  8. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been looking round and found this site seems to have the best prices and a really good choice. Although I'm not exactly sure which to get... the Profigold 781 seems quite good. same goes for the component cables.

    How would you set it up so I could switch it for the TV? what are the options I can only find switching boxes that have one output.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  10. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    What about switching it to the tv?
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well this is where an AV reciver with video switching and dual monitor outputs comes in mate. As you have multiple signal types this is dificult to do well and cheaply.... can just connect VCR scart on Sky to TV etc.................
     
  12. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok thank you for your help
     
  13. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    hornydragon.

    Thanks again for your help. I ended up getting the cables from audiovisual online as tv cables athough initially cheaper were £6.50 more expensive once the delivery cost and the hidden handling charge was added. Anyway the cables just arrived. I can't wait to set it all up tonight.

    Got to find a reasonably cheap way to switch it to tv then too. On the other hand I may splash out and get something that is good quality to match the rest of the system (well most of it).
     

Share This Page

Loading...