Connecting Mac via Onkyo?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by googlebox99, Jun 7, 2008.

Tags:
  1. googlebox99

    googlebox99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have an Onkyo 605 going to a Toshiba WLT66. I'd like to connect my macbook every so often to browse net on the big screen. What is the best way to do this?

    Through Onkyo, or straight into HDMI or PC on TV? I have no HDMI inputs on Onkyo left.
     
  2. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,508
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,503
    I think you've answered your own question! ;) If it's just for occasional use, I would simply connect to the TV and there is no real advantage in connecting a PC via an amp anyway unless it's for the convenience of running a single HDMI cable. What connections are available on a macbook as ultimately that's what is going to be the deciding factor?
     
  3. googlebox99

    googlebox99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just a mini DVI socket, but would it be better for me to get a DVI-HDMI to the TV, or just a normal VGA cable?
     
  4. mattg

    mattg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,289
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +564
    Hi,
    As I understand it, I would recommend going the HDMI route as the signal will remain digital.

    I'm having problems setting my mac to 1366*768 when using the VGA converter. At the moment I can only get it to 1280*768 and have black borders. This is when connecting to a sony KDL40p3020.
     
  5. dannydj

    dannydj
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    if you want sound as well picture id go via the onkyo, as im pretty sure the dvi to hdmi will only provide picture, thus if running straight to the panel an audio lead (3.5 to 2 phono ) will be required.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice