Connecting laptop (VGA) to plasma with no VGA in

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by SimonMallion, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As the topic title says, I want to connect my laptop to a plasma but the plasma does not have a VGA in.

    What are the options available to me?

    The plasma is a panasonic TH42PE50B and has a component input and a few SCART sockets (2 x RGB I believe). The laptop only has a VGA output, not a SVideo as some have.

    Am I able to do what I want? I would like a decent clear picture if possible.
     
  2. ummy

    ummy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply and link, I did not know it was that simple.
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,441
    Sorry to put a downer on this, but I don't think any of the cables in the link will work when going from PC/laptop to plasma.
    The first converter is to convert RGBs scart to VGA, and I don't think it will work in reverse. All the other leads are connection converters and not signal converters.
    As I said above a scart is RGBs and a VGA output from a PC is RGBHV. To connect one to the other you need to do signal conversion that takes dedicated hardware.

    Mark.
     
  5. ummy

    ummy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    would the 3phono to VGA work ?
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,441
    No, as I said a VGA outputs RGBHV which is a 5 phono connection. A 3 phono cable will only carry YUV component or RGsB, so unless you can set the laptop to output these signals the lead will not work.

    Mark.
     
  7. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice