Connecting from Sound Card to Phono for Surround Sound

naboomagnoli

Standard Member
Hello, noob here. Funnily enough, as is the case with most noobs here, I have a question :D

One day when I have enough money spare I'll get myself a decent surround sound system. For the moment though I've got a crummy old MHC RXD10AV. Fortunately for me it has 5.1 surround, but it uses 6 phono inputs (5 speakers and the sub).

How do I connect to 6 speakers from this, the Creative X-Fi Platinum? http://images.soundblaster.com//images/corporate/artwork/art_xfi_platinum_pdt_hi.jpg

I've tried circumnavigating my lack of knowledge using educated guesswork. I reckon that, because there are 4 minijack connectors on the back end of the sound card (3 out, 1 in) that these are stereo outs, and that you could possibly connect a stereo minijack-to-red+white phonos cable into each of these to get front left+right, rear left+right, and then centre+sub?

As I say, that's guesswork. I'd much rather know for certain! If that's wrong, am I doomed? The hi-fi doesn't have any other means for surround sound, it's ancient and only has an optical out rather than in.

Thanks in advance :)

deaf cat

Hiya,

Well do you think something like this may help?
http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/endecaSe...ono&Nty=1&showImages=true&N=411&Ntk=gensearch

Could try maplins, and local hifi shop too.

Should say in the sound card instructions what the outputs are, and what voltage they are. The 6 RCA inputs on the amp should more than likely be expecting something like 2Volts, like the o/p of a cd player (2V) check with manufacures if you think necessary.