1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting Freeview to Projector

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by petrolhead, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,477
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +81
    I have a Pace freeview box and a TW100 projector.

    The pace feeds through the video and then on to the PJ using a composite connections.

    Although the picture is ok can improve on this and if so how.

    The PJ has Svideo and coponent although the component is used for the DVD

    If this is posted in the wrong section feel free to move mods
     
  2. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am getting a truly astonishing picture from Freeview using Nebula DigiTV. There is an inherent loss of quality using composite of s-video connections and it would be cheaper to get a new PC with Nebula than fiddling with Pace.

    I am using JVC D-ILA G10 projector and 2m wide screen. The picture from Freeview is marginally below a good DVD (that I also watch using HTPC).
     
  3. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,477
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +81
    HTPC is a no go for me. Tried it and ended up messing about and nver watching a film :(

    So went back to DVD player and much happier although quality not as good blood pressure is better now :)

    Probably being an IT manager the last think I want ot do is mess on with computers when I get home
     
  4. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Try a Netgem with component
     
  5. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,477
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +81
    As stated the component is already used. Does it have svideo as I believe this is this much better than composite
     
  6. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm using a Pioneer freeview box (£100) with a QED scart to svideo lead on my HS10 PJ on an 8ft screen - very good apart from football that looks a bit patchy
     
  7. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,477
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +81
  8. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure your box outputs s-video first.

    I have my sky box connected to my dvd recorder and then output to the pj with an s-video cable. Not perfect as the cable is 15m long and cheap but not bad. For watching films I record onto DVD+RW and then play it on my HCPC via a vga cable which gives better quality as well as prog scan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...