• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.
  • Black Friday Deals
    Visit our Black Friday page for our frequently updated, hand picked deals on TVs and other tech.

Connecting for movies and music

morini3andahalf

Hi Guys,

A subwoofer noob here looking for wisdom.

I am awaiting delivery of my first subwoofer, a BK XLS200DF. It is now well into the 4th week since ordering so hopefully it will turn up in the not too distant future. While I am waiting I thought I would ask on here for some connection advice. Having lurked for a good while, read tons of old threads and confused myself senseless I thought I would ask you guys instead ;)

My system is used 50% movies / 50% music and I must confess I am totally confused about whether I can use the subwoofer for both (if it ever arrives, that is :suicide:). I do not have a separate AV / music amp and will be watching movies and listening to music through my recently acquired Denon AVR2310 receiver. I downloaded the instruction manual for the sub and it states "Please Note that high and low level connections can be used at the same time if required. This has the advantage of being able to connect up a Hi-Fi and AV system simultaneously". I am assuming this is aimed at people who have two amplifiers, one serving the AV function and one for music? My question is can I use both the high and low level connections at the same time with the single AV receiver and, if so, is there anything to be gained by doing so? I take it when listening to stereo music sources the AV receiver does no bass management so unless I have the high level input connected the sub won't be doing anything when listening to music?

I would really like to have the benefit of the sub for music and movies. Can I do this? Somebody put me straight.

IronGiant