Connecting everything up - what kind of cables do I need?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by emma3701, Aug 23, 2006.

1. emma3701

emma3701

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Apologies for any dumb questions, but I'm very new to separates, having not even taken delivery yet. We have (soon to arrive) a Denon DCD 700ae CD player, a Denon PMA 700ae amp, and a Denon TU1800 DAB tuner.
    We haven't yet decided on speakers, but Quad 11Ls are a possibility.
    My question is - what kind of cable do I need to connect amp to CD, amp to tuner, and amp to speakers? The speakers will be about 8m and 11 m away from the amp.
    I don't want to spend mega-bucks, as I have no claim to being an audiophile, but am prepared to spend a little more to get a discernible (to me!) difference. I'm looking for advice both on type of cable and brand, as I literally know nothing.
    Can anyone advise me?
    Thanks
    Em

2. cwilson

cwilson
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    you just need phono to phone cables from the tuner>amp, and CD> amp, people tell you some sound better than others. There may be some in the boxes when they arrive.
    this type of thing http://www.true-colours.com/more.asp?Catalogid=5
    (not suggesting what you buy, thats just the first link I found)

for the amp to speakers- any decent speaker cable will be fine, if you have a maplins handy, then 2 lengths of the van damme 2.5 mm will be fine, its about £2 per meter.(http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=13295&criteria=van damme&doy=23m8

3. Herbie

Herbie
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a general rule of thumb, most say that you should budget for about 10% of the total cost of the system to spend on cables...

I'm guessing the system will cost in total about a grand, so £100 on cables.

4. CJROSS

CJROSS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: