1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connecting dvd to amp

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by mulder, Jan 14, 2003.

  1. mulder

    mulder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can anyone help!!
    I own a yamaha dsp ax620 amp and a toshsd2109 dvd player connected together via a coaxial lead as there is no optical connections on my dvd player, the problem is I want to buy a philips dvdr880 but that too is only connected via coaxial and I don't have any other coaxial sockets left on my amp is there anything I can do? besides buying another amp that is!!
     
  2. driver8

    driver8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Malé, Maldives
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. Alsproject

    Alsproject
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well, if you wanted both digital co-ax cables to connect to the one Co-ax socket, you could first try out a co-ax Y plug. You should be able to get one of these from any hi-fi store but I don't know if it will work properly. It still might be worth trying as it will only cost a couple of quid.

    Alternatively, you can get a Coaxial To Optical Convertor for about £20 from www.lektropacks.co.uk (just do a search for COOP). Then you could connect it to the optical connector on the amp.

    Hope this helps.

    Alan
     
  4. mulder

    mulder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your help guys coaxial to optical converter looks good!
     
  5. JFK

    JFK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    middlands of no return
    Ratings:
    +5
    You dont need any coaxial to optical converter. I have the same amp and with my first dvd player only being coaxial output.

    Look in the manual on page 35 at the grey hilighted section
    4 I/O ASSIGNMENT then look for - 4D COAXIAL IN (for the COAXIAL INPUT jack) the initial setting is CD but you can change it to DVD or if you follow the sequence of buttons to press on the remote below.

    Press 4 times on the Menu/Setup button
    1 time on the +> (right arrow) button
    6 times on the V (down arrow) button
    3 times on the -< (left arrow) button
    4 times on the ^ (up arrow) button

    Now all you have to do is select DVD on the input selection and watch and listen to movies.
     
  6. mulder

    mulder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    jfk, How will that solve the problem of two coaxial leads and one coaxial socket?
     
  7. JFK

    JFK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    middlands of no return
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sorry about that, didn't read thread properly. Maybe there is a coaxial Y-splitter or back to the idea of the converter.
     

Share This Page

Loading...