Connecting Denon 500SD to Panasonic TH-37PV500 Plasma HD

S

steerpike55

I am completely new to this. Just bought a Panasonic HD Plasma TH 37 PV500
and want to connect Denon surround system 500SD to it. The TV has 3 Scart inputs AV1 AV2 and AV4 (RGB) and component video. Would the best quality be component video from DVD to TV and scart from Sky Satellite(Digital not Sky plus) to TV (and which input?) Would this get me TV sound through surround sound? And to add the VCR - scart to TV or Sat receiver (has 2 scart inputs )? (and which input?) -and would this give me sound through surround sound?
Also on turning on TV (currently just scart connecting receiver to TV) the auto set up did not pick up the channel listing through DVB ( the facility on TV) I just switched AV channel and it was there but has not itemised it on DVB menu.
Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated! I find it hard to understand the manuals!

Connect the Denon via Component cables.

Connect the Sky box via Scart to a RGB Scart input.

Connect the VCR to the Sky box via Scart.

To get the sound back from the TV to the Denon, you need either a Scart connection or Phono connection between the two - Component is a one way picture connection only. (I would use a Scart and set the Denon to TV).

If I understand you correctly, the TV has inbuilt Freeview? The reason it did not detect the channel listing is that it has to have an ariel connection, it has nothing to do with your Sky box. Watching Sky via the AV channel is correct and bypasses any inbuilt tuner functions.

Thanks for that - so the DVB on the Panasonic is in fact a freeview?
Can you recommend any quality video component wires?
Also - do I need to put co-axial terrestial antenna wire in television or in Denon with a connect to TV?

Thanks

steerpike55 said:
Thanks for that - so the DVB on the Panasonic is in fact a freeview?
Can you recommend any quality video component wires?