1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting Camera to Video sender

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by maxpower, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. maxpower

    maxpower
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anyway I can connect my Camera to a TV via a video sender. Reason I wish to use it to monitor (not record) an amateur drama production. I know I can do it using hard wire but distance and the laying of cables is a problem. I have a couple of digi senders but I cant see how I can connect the output of the camera without going thru recorder or the like. Is it possible, has anyone done it?
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Not done it, but see no reason why you can't!
    Most camcorders have a dedicated cable for the AV output - small jack or din type plug to yellow, red & white phono plugs. Just connect this to the senders composite video & stereo audio inputs and away you go. If the sender only has a scart input then just use a phono to scart adapter, just make sure it is an adapter wired for phono>scart direction rather than scart>phono as they are directional!

    Mark.
     
  3. maxpower

    maxpower
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for reply, the problem I have is that the sender does not have the inputs you make reference to. The sender input is via a scart plug (not socket) which normally goes into the output socket on back of recorder/Sky box or whatever. There are no phono sockets on the sender either. I could use a phono to scart adaptor but again they are of the wrong gender. The only way I can see at the moment would be to connect it to VCR and then use it as a thru port. But I wish to mount the camera up high on a wall and there is no place nearby for the recorder. Hence the need to use wireless.
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I now see where you are coming from!

    Right, the way I see it is you have 2 choices:

    1. get another video sender that does have phono inputs.
    2. Get one of These to connect the video sender and scart adaptor on camcorder lead, but this is getting a bit messy with all the connections.

    Mark.
     
  5. maxpower

    maxpower
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark, thanks for the info, i've order one of those adaptors, should do the trick
    Regards
    Dave M
     
  6. maxpower

    maxpower
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx mark, all sorted.
    Regards
    Dave M :clap:
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...