1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting AVR300 to a CRT TV via RGB

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by TimHiFi, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. TimHiFi

    TimHiFi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +1
    I read my Arcam Manual, and I am convinced that I can connect the AVR300 high quality video output to my Sony 100Hz CRT TV.

    However, the man in Sevenoaks in Reading say that I am mistaken ?

    OK, the manual says I can't take RGB from the amp and send it into a TV that has RGB Sync on Green.

    But most CRTs also have composite going in on the SCART too, so I can connect from the amp to the TV with RGB and composite (to provide the sync).

    Does anyone know if I am correct in my assumptions, or is the man in Sevenoaks correct.

    The SCART to 4 phono cable (RGB + Sync) from QED is about £70 ! so I'd like to know if its possible before buying one.

    If not, then I guess I'll continue to bypass the video section of the amp, as I'm doing now. However it would be nice to see the TV screen menus other than through the grotty composite connection I have now ?

    I assume Sony TVs will accept RGB + Sync on composite will they ?

    Thanks

    Tim
     
  2. Andy_61

    Andy_61
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too have wondered about this possibility - Sevenoaks Sheffield seemed to think it was do-able, provided one had the scart to 4phono cable.

    Can anyone suggest a reason for it NOT working?

    Regards,

    ANDY
     
  3. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
  4. TimHiFi

    TimHiFi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +1
    Basically the question I/we are asking is whether most modern TVs are

    a) RGB Sync on green i.e 3 phonos to SCART

    or

    b) RGB Sync on Composite i.e 4 phonos to SCART

    I think its a, or b ... its just an expensive cable to buy only to find it won't work :0(

    The Arcam seems to be pretty unique in this RGB output to a standard CRT using 'component' RGB

    Perhaps our resident Arcam Engineer might pick up,on this post ?
     
  5. Robin Francis

    Robin Francis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Option B. This is how I have it connected to my Philips TV. I think that this is also the standard for SCART.

    /Robin
     
  6. TimHiFi

    TimHiFi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Robin

    Seeing as you have it working ... it must be true.

    Might give it a go.

    Are you using the QED cable or another one ?
     
  7. Robin Francis

    Robin Francis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I built my own cable using Supra AV 6.4 cable, Supra RCA-3 and Supra SCART connectors. Fantastic result! Most TVs aslo require that the SCART input is triggered to use RGB. The RGB-trigger output on the AVR250/300 is used for this. If this is not used the TV only uses the composite signal. This was the case with my Philips TV.

    /Robin
     
  8. Andy_61

    Andy_61
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, Robin.

    Not being the most competent of people with a soldering iron, I think I'll just approach those nice QED people :thumbsup:
     
  9. Robin Francis

    Robin Francis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remember the RGB trigger. The QED SQUART AV19 and AV29 does not have it. Maybe they have a custom cable ?

    /Robin
     
  10. Lefreck

    Lefreck
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    L
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Robin,
    As you are using the RGB-output from the AVR300, have you tried if interlaced YUV signals are "transcoded" to RGB?
     
  11. Robin Francis

    Robin Francis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AVR250/300 does not convert YUV to RGB or vice versa.
     
  12. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    I think you're asking what this thread covered admirably :)

    Mike.
     

Share This Page

Loading...