1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting AV amp to Projector

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by BigTone, Feb 17, 2003.

  1. BigTone

    BigTone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,255
    Ok,

    Now I'm gettign all excited, looks like a projector is going to be coming sooner rather than later :)

    A quick question about connection. My AV amp is the Denon 10SE, and my DVD is using the component inputs (Y, Cb and Cr), my Sony PS using S-Video input, Sky using S-video input. Initially I was palnning to use the S-video output to connect to my projector, but I'm thinking that this is not the best option. However, if I use component out, will I get a signal from the S-video inputs? or will I have to run both? Or should I run direct from DVD to projector and miss the amp out?

    Obviously my better half doesn't want more cables running the length of the room, and I do believe that I told her just one cable would be required (and of course the cables for the rear and side speakers :-!) I can run the cables inside the coving.......

    (JFI the room is 16 foot long and 12 foot wide, solid concrete floor, joists running width ways, floor above is not boards and recently carpeted)

    Tone

    PS my partner has now realised that the DVD player she bought as an xmas present has turned out to be the most expensive even :)
     
  2. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Why not get an rgb-component convertor for sky and a component lead for the PS.
     
  3. BigTone

    BigTone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,255
    There is only 2 comp. inputs on the amp.

    How does RGB component work for sky?

    Tone
     
  4. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,764
    I think the easiest/simplest/msst direct option is:
    Component direct from DVD to PJ
    SVideo from all sources into amp and then SVideo from amp to PJ.
     

Share This Page

Loading...