1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connecting an Integrated Amp to a Receiver

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by equinoxdreams, Dec 1, 2004.

1. equinoxdreams

equinoxdreams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello,

I'm a completely novice at this - but I have bought a Yamaha 1500 receiver (which is excellent) - now I'm looking to buy a dedicated CD player for 2-channel stereo music. I realise, that most DVD players wont produce very good 2-channel reproduction, so that's why I'm going for a dedicated CD player (NAD C542).

What I want to know, would I need to buy a dedicated amplifier to get the best sound, or will it sound amazing going through the Yamaha 1500. If I did buy an amplifier, I would go for the NAD C352CT. What would be the best combination for hooking this up to the Yamaha 1500. Would is act as a power amp for the Yamaha - or would this be a pointless exercise.

If you use the NAD as a power amp - can you still run a CD player off it, or does the CD player need to be connected into the back of the receiver?

Or would it be best for the Yamaha to be the power amp and the NAD as the pre-amp.

I'm totally lost on all this!!

Please help!!

Phil.

2. Garrett

Garrett

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,024
    I would run the CD straight to you dedicated amp. I have Denon 1905 receiver (a bit down the scale from your Yamaha) and a Audiolab amp I run all the musical stuff through the Audiolab and only run stuff from the DVD player through the Denon.
    You can use the stand alone amp for the front two speakers even when watching a movie.