Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

connecting an infocus 4805 to a laptop?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ENG, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. ENG

    ENG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi hope you guys can help, I am borrowing an infocus 4805 projector tomorrow night to do a powerpoint presentation, I know nothing about projectors and need to know what cables I need to connect this up to my laptop. thanks
     
  2. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    The 4805 comes with a PC cable but it's M1 to DVI/USB which is fine if you have DVI out on the PC

    You will need a M1 to VGA cable with a laptop with a 15pin HDD VGA socket.
    The M1 connector is like a wider version of a DVI connector, the extra pins being for the USB connector on the other end of the cable.

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  3. ENG

    ENG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still a bit confused I have a new dell lap top and these are the ports I have
    2-USB 2.0 (Universal Serial Bus) compliant 4-pin connectors

    TV-Out (S-Video-Out): 7-pin mini-DIN connector

    IEEE 1394 (Firewire): 4-pin serial connector

    Fast IR (Infrared): sensor compatible with IrDA Standard 1.1 (Fast IR) and IrDA Standard 1.0 (Slow IR)

    Parallel port: 25-hole connector

    Serial : 9-pin connector

    Video: 15-pin monitor connector

    Do I still need this M1 to VGA cable? If so where can i get one quickly any links? Pc world?

    thanks
     
  4. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    You will to still need a M1 to VGA cable to use with your laptop.

    Do a google search for: M1 to VGA cable

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  5. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +230
    Actually the 4805 does not come with a M1 to DVI, it comes with a M1 to VGA/USB so you can connect to a PC straight away. I know this because I own a 4805 and have connected it to my PC to update the firmware on their site. I have had to buy a M1-DA to DVI adapter to get DVI from my DVD player.
     
  6. mavice

    mavice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    4805 connected to laptop via the M1-VGA cable

    cant seem to get higher res than 640x480 - Is this normal ?

    I set a custom res of 848 x 480 in NVIDIA driver (60HZ) but when I apply the PJ reports 640 x 480 and text looks chopped up - 640 x 480 is the clearest but I would like to output at 1:1 pixels.

    please dont tell me it only does this via DVI as my laptop does not have DVI output (and obviously cant be upgraded) :rolleyes:


    cheers
     
  7. mavice

    mavice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    uppy
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice