1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connecting an infocus 4805 to a laptop?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ENG, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. ENG

    ENG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi hope you guys can help, I am borrowing an infocus 4805 projector tomorrow night to do a powerpoint presentation, I know nothing about projectors and need to know what cables I need to connect this up to my laptop. thanks
     
  2. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    The 4805 comes with a PC cable but it's M1 to DVI/USB which is fine if you have DVI out on the PC

    You will need a M1 to VGA cable with a laptop with a 15pin HDD VGA socket.
    The M1 connector is like a wider version of a DVI connector, the extra pins being for the USB connector on the other end of the cable.

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  3. ENG

    ENG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still a bit confused I have a new dell lap top and these are the ports I have
    2-USB 2.0 (Universal Serial Bus) compliant 4-pin connectors

    TV-Out (S-Video-Out): 7-pin mini-DIN connector

    IEEE 1394 (Firewire): 4-pin serial connector

    Fast IR (Infrared): sensor compatible with IrDA Standard 1.1 (Fast IR) and IrDA Standard 1.0 (Slow IR)

    Parallel port: 25-hole connector

    Serial : 9-pin connector

    Video: 15-pin monitor connector

    Do I still need this M1 to VGA cable? If so where can i get one quickly any links? Pc world?

    thanks
     
  4. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    You will to still need a M1 to VGA cable to use with your laptop.

    Do a google search for: M1 to VGA cable

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  5. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    Actually the 4805 does not come with a M1 to DVI, it comes with a M1 to VGA/USB so you can connect to a PC straight away. I know this because I own a 4805 and have connected it to my PC to update the firmware on their site. I have had to buy a M1-DA to DVI adapter to get DVI from my DVD player.
     
  6. mavice

    mavice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    4805 connected to laptop via the M1-VGA cable

    cant seem to get higher res than 640x480 - Is this normal ?

    I set a custom res of 848 x 480 in NVIDIA driver (60HZ) but when I apply the PJ reports 640 x 480 and text looks chopped up - 640 x 480 is the clearest but I would like to output at 1:1 pixels.

    please dont tell me it only does this via DVI as my laptop does not have DVI output (and obviously cant be upgraded) :rolleyes:


    cheers
     
  7. mavice

    mavice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    uppy
     

Share This Page

Loading...