1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting an amp to a VERY old tv - is it possible?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Tejstar, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    I want to connect an integrated amp to a very old Toshiba set, the 285T8BU, a 28" 4:3 bought in 1990. I just don't know whether it is possible as it has no component, s-video or composite sockets.

    What it does have however is the following:

    1 scart socket
    1 S-VHS video socket
    2 S-VHS audio sockets (Left/Right)

    The tv is still in great working order and I don't have the funds to buy a new one just yet, so I was wondering whether there was a way around the problem? :confused:

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    2 possibilities:

    * The scart socket may carry the audio out signal, in which a suitable cable shouldn't be too hard to find.

    * If there's a headphone out socket you can route that into an amplifier.
     
  3. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    I'm a bit confused :confused:

    Do I need an audio signal to the amp, or a video signal, or both?
     
  4. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Also, is the s-video socket the same as a s-vhs video socket?
     
  5. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What are you trying to acheive??

    a. listen to your TV sound through the amp OR
    b. feed the video from other sources through the amp into the TV?
     
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    As with diabolik, what exactly do you want to do?

    As far as you should be concerned, SVHS and S-Video are the same thing. Your TV will also have a composite video input as part of the scart socket.
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Sorry guys I haven't been clear.

    What I'm trying to do is to have the tv connected to the amp to utilise the external speakers I have i.e. not the tv speakers. Judging by your reply does this mean I only need a video signal from the tv to the amp?
     
  8. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,067
    You need an AUDIO (sound) signal from the TV to the amp.

    You may well get this from the SCART. Failing that (as stated) you can use the headphone outlet if it has one.
     
  9. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Would I be able to use the S-VHS audio sockets (red & white (L&R)) to feed the audio or would it be best to go through the scart?

    :confused:
     
  10. diabolik

    diabolik
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would guess that the scart connection is OUT not in so that would be useless.
    If there is a red and white RCA audio connection out of the TV I'd use that.

    Cheers
     
  11. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Ok I'll give that a try!

    Cheers diabolik :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...