Connecting Amp to 1TB HD Box. Plz Help!

andyrogers85

Standard Member
Hi Guys

Im new to this, so please forgive me if this has already been asked.

I bought a Yamaha RXV371 Amp and 5.1 speakers and need help connecting it to my Blu-Ray player and Sky HD Box.

I was told to connect the SKY HD and Blu Ray to the Amp via HDMI and then then Amp to the TV via HDMI.
However, I've read that in order to get Dolby Digi Surround sound, the Sky HD box must be connected via Optical Wire. Is this true? If so then how should the connections be?

p.s- I have the latest 1TB Sky HD box.

Many Thanks
Andy

PSM1

Distinguished Member
It is correct that if you want 5.1 surround sound from Sky you will need to connect an optical cable to the amp as only stereo sound is sent via the HDMI. There is no need to connect the HDMI cable from the sky box to the amp (you could connect it direct to the TV) unless you want to use the amp to switch between devices.

Don Dadda

Distinguished Member
Its true and you will need one of these:
Digital Optical Cable

Connect that between the sky box and to one of the optical inputs on the avr. (AV1 or AV4 going by the online manual)
You may need to assign the input if not ready done so by default - Refer to AVR's manual for instructions.

EDIT: PSM1 beat me to it - just:smashin:

Last edited:

andyrogers85

Standard Member
It is correct that if you want 5.1 surround sound from Sky you will need to connect an optical cable to the amp as only stereo sound is sent via the HDMI. There is no need to connect the HDMI cable from the sky box to the amp (you could connect it direct to the TV) unless you want to use the amp to switch between devices.

Sorry, but what do you mean by 'unless you want to use the amp to switch between devices'. Is there any advantage of connecting the Sky HD box via HDMI to the amp rather then direct to the TV?

PSM1

Distinguished Member