Connecting.....AMP / DVD / TV

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by knobitt, May 7, 2001.

1. knobitt

knobitt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Newbie here again :p

Expecting delivery of my first "real" AV Amp(Yam DSP A5) Wednesday morning...the wait is killing me :)

Anyway advice for best way of connecting my Amp, DVD player & TV would be most welcome, also could someone explain(or point me in direction of web site) how an AV Amp controls Video Switching.

At present i'm connected by (basic)scart - DVD/TV, (basic)phono - DVD/Pro-Logic Amp...what new cables(type/brand) will i be needing?

I shall take all suggestions for cables on board...off to buy them tomorrow ready for Wednesday's big delivery :)

Thanks All!

[ 07-05-2001: Message edited by: knobitt ]

2. Matty N

Matty N

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out Andy's post on "Amp Connections" or something like that.

Matt

3. Beddie

Beddie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    My A5 came with a large sheet showing diagrams of the best way to connect up all your kit. Use that as a starting point and you should be fine.

4. Berno

Berno
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    While we're on the subject I too am confused as to how to connect my TV(Panasonic TX28PK2) to the DSP-A5.

I would like to use the Dolby Prologic decoder in the Amp instead of the TV, but there is no mention in either the TV manual or the Amp manual as to what connections to make.

There are five phono outputs at the rear of the TV (2 Front, 2 Surround and 1 Centre).

Am I correct in thinking that I can connect the 2 Front outputs at the rear of the TV to the digital TV input on the DSP-A5 and then turn surround sound off at the TV end?