1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting a TV (1 scart) to a DVD (1 scart), video (1 scart) & Sky digibox - help!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by sdavis1970, Apr 28, 2004.

1. sdavis1970

sdavis1970

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Warning - I'm a complete novice and should in no way be confused with a techie!!

Before I had my DVD player, this is how I'd connected my various scart cables.

The scart socket on the back of my telly was connected to the TV socket on my Sky box and my video was connected to the VCR socket on my Sky box.

This worked fine, ie when I put a tape in and hit play the scart took over and it displayed the video output as expected.

Now I've got a DVD player things have got more complicated, especially as I've only got one scart socket on my telly.

I've bought myself a scart splitter and an extra cable and here's how it looks now:

The scart plug on the splitter is plugged into the TV socket on my Sky box.
    The VCR socket on my Sky box is connected to my DVD player
    My video and my telly have both got a scart cable connecting them to the splitter unit.

I've tried various combinations and this is the closest I can get to perfection.

With this set up I can watch DVDs with no problem but when I play a video nothing happens.

I can see the video output by changing my TV channel to my video output channel but because that isn't using the scart connection I'm getting an echo on the picture - everything appears with a shadow which is unwatchable.

Most people probably have 2 scart sockets on their telly and so don't have this problem, but can you tell by this rambling email whether I'm doing something obviously stupid?

And "buy yourself a new telly, mate" isn't going to help me!!!

All suggestions gratefully received - thanks!

2. balders

balders

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25