Connecting a PC to LG 42PX3RV

Discussion in 'LG TVs Forum' started by Mindvox, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. Mindvox

    Mindvox
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My LG comes on Monday, really looking forward to it, but I've got the PC all set up ready to connect to the the set as it has a VGA output (15 pin) on the back.

    I have a couple of questions though.

    What is the maximum resolution the LG panel will show when displaying a PC image?

    My GeForce FX5950 Ultra can play Doom3, Half Life 2, and Far Cry at 1280 x 1024 with ease, will I be able to set these settings on the game and will the set simply "downgrade" this image to look similar but fit into it's own specifications if lower?

    Cheers. :)
     
  2. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Mindvox,
    First of all I think your VGA card has DVI out. Then it would be maybe better to get DVI to HDMI cable-you will get digital signal. About resolution-well the LG PX3RV has 852 x 480 resolution-it can't display more pixel information. However it will except signal of 1280 x 1024 and then downscale it and fit it to the screen.
     
  3. Mindvox

    Mindvox
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah Stainway, my card has both VGA and DVI on it and at present I'm using a VGA to DVI cable to connect to my PC monitor. The VGA end is in the PC with the DVI end being in the monitor.

    I had no idea I could use the DVI on the GPU card and connect it to the set via HMDI ... didn't know about DVI to HMDI cables. :oops:

    It's going to be nice to have things properly set-up on this set with the DVD player using Component, PC using HMDI, and Sky using RGB Scart.

    The consoles will be sharing the RGB slot with Sky via a Scart switching box and when Xbox360 comes along I'll hopefully be able to buy some kind of similar HDMI switcher to keep the PC and 360 connected.

    Cheers. :smashin:
     
  4. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
  5. Mindvox

    Mindvox
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers mate. :smashin:

    I'm just getting impatient now, big day tomorrow. Looking forward to getting the Plasma in, sorting out the image settings and playing some DVDs and Games on it to see the quality of image I get.

    Cost was the major reason I went Plasma as I just couldn't justify £17000 for the cheapest LCD and for some reason the LG just drew me in. I'm just worried I'm going to turn it on and be horrified by some low resolution, pixellated image. Thankfully, the words about this set have been excellent on here, and have I picked it up correctly regarding LG using Panasonic screens/screen technology in their Plasmas?

    Would I be right in saying you have this set Stainway? Could you possibly take a photo of your set displaying an Xbox game or recent DVD release and post it here? Would be most appreciated.

    Cheers. :D
     
  6. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    Don't worry that much!
    Yes I have the PX3RV and I Am very pleased-but I can't take pics as I don't have a good digital cam-only my mobile, but this is not a cam with good quality:)
    Anyway-the x box looks even better then on normal CRT (I had a very decent JVC Interi art TV set) and DVD it will be also fantastic.
    Make sure you have a good quality cables e.g. component, scart etc...About LG using Panasonic technology-no sorry that's not true-they make their own panels and then use their own technology.
    Anyway run the plasma easy at the beginning and don't force it much-lower the contrast etc.... after 200-300 hours it will look even better.
    You can see some pics on one review I found here:http://www.dinside.no/php/art.php?id=217741&bid=1
    It is however in Danish:))
     
  7. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    Your're wrong, it's Norwegian but yes, you're right, LG make their own plasma displays and I fell in love with this set in the shop...now I just need to rob a bank or two... :devil:

    BTW, anyone know the difference between RV, RVA and RVB models with LG??? No A means no speakers???
     
  8. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    ooops-sorry :oops: -Yes is Norwegian off course:)
    now about the difference between RV, RVA and RVB models -the RVB is not available in Holland where I am, but RVA has single tuner-RV has twin tuner and then you have PX4RV-that is the same as 3RV,but it has intelligent eye-it set the contrast automatically depending of the light in the room.
    I think in Germany they sell PX3RVB in black instead of the silver PX3RV-anyway the specification are just the same and the PQ it will be the same.
     
  9. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    OK, I need to pay close attention to the RVA then because that's the only one available in my country for now...as for the 4RV - I don't like the electronic equipment become too inteligent with AI on my behalf...this set might kill me in my sleep... :D
     
  10. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
  11. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    Strange, the RVA here has black frame with the rest in silver...or they mislabeled it in the shop...it's one of those megastores where they connect DVD to Plasma via composite phono lead... :mad:
     
  12. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    No they were not correct. See pics. (from left to the right-PX3RVA,PX3RV and PX4RV)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    Yes, it's like the middle one, it's RV then...what a bunch of ignorants...at least they are cheaper then elsewhere...
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Stainway, have you actually tried this res on the HDMI? It's not in the HDMI spec, nor listed in the manual. I'd have thought 1280/720 was a better bet via HDMI in any case, as it's a 16:9 aspect signal, same shape as the display, so no aspect disortion, circles will be round. Also, I'm 100% certain it will be accepted by any HDMI. I know LG are good on signal acceptance, but I don't think quite that good on HDMI!!
     
  15. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    MAW, no I haven't done anything with PC to my plasma, but it is in the manual of the LG-I don't say it will be the best resolution to use, but we will hear from Mindvox tomorrow. I think there was one member with nick wolf-he was busy with PC connecting the LG, maybe he knows more about it.
    In fact 1280/720 is not in the manual-1024/768 or 1280/960-yes.Above 1280x1024 it won't display signal at all.
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Ah, but 1280/720 IS in the manual for HDMI, as 720p. I do not see these PC resolutions listed for the HDMI input in the download manual, only for VGA, which I would expect. That's what caught my attention, and inputting a 4:3 res into a 16:9 display will make all his nasty little villains look like the 7 dwarves from snow white.....
     
  17. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90

    Attached Files:

  18. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    We do speak about PC use. I see your manual claims loads of PC resolutions, and this is HDMI!!! Normally it takes VGA and s-vga, that's in the HDMI spec, a very boring 75 page .pdf file. Then it takes video resolutions, all the usual suspects, of which 720p is one, which equates to 1280/720 DVI from a PC. This mimics a HD signal from an upscaling DVD player etc, but of course no HDCP. The point about the PC res and aspect ratio seems to baffle folks for some reason. There was a guy called Neonmod who had a PX11, lost it big style when it was explained! He was using 1280/1024 on VGA at the time, insisted he had no aspect distortion. This of course cannt be. Since the screen is going to scale any non native res, and native is too low for a windows desktop, what we do with W-VGA panels is 720p. They usually have optimised scaling for 720p anyway, as it's so usual for HDTV, and it fits a proper desktop onto the screen, and it corrects the aspect problem. Hence, 99% chance it will be the best res to send.
     
  19. Mindvox

    Mindvox
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bottom line Maw, I want to connect my rig to my LG tomorrow and play Half Life 2. So, with all due respect, instead of debating and turning the thread into a two-and-fro arguement of "he said this" and "he tried that", could you do me a favour and tell me the following.

    1) The best input for the PC?

    At present it will be DVI on the 5950 Ultra and VGA into the LG.

    2) Can I chose 1280 x 1024 on my game settings and expect the LG to rescale the image to fit into the widescreen ratio of the LG?

    If not, which resolution in the game settings (or TV?) would give me best results of PC games.

    That's all I ask Maw, and I don't mean to sound nippy but the thread was in danger of losing it's topic and bottom line, I need all the assistance I can get with setting my set up tomorrow.

    Any help IS very much appreciated.

    Cheers. :smashin:
     
  20. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I've given the bottom line, I'm not arguing the toss. You'll get a distorted picture at 1280/1024, if this does not bother you fine. If you want your monsters to be the right shape, instead of being little cute fat things, you'll need to use 1280/720 by one input or another. It does not actually matter what input you use.
     
  21. stainway

    stainway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    The Hague,Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +90
    I still believe that DVI to HDMI is the best way to connect it.
    Why to process digital signal to analogue and then from analogue to digital again?
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Yes, fine, just use 1280/720......
     
  23. Mindvox

    Mindvox
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Half Life 2 actually dispells the need to worry about your enemies appearing as "dwarves" because it has a Widescreen 16:9 option in the Video panel under Options.

    The thing is Maw, PC games by rule don't offer a) 1280 x 720 resolution or b) Custom Settings for resolution. The closest setting any game on PC offers to your recommendation is 1280 x 960.
     
  24. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    About 90% of my sons games offer widescreen resolutions, 1280/720 being the most common. If you can aspect ratio correct by some other means, and other PC applications are of no interest, then I'd use 1024/768. There's little point in using higher with the display you have.
     
  25. Kalos Geros

    Kalos Geros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +136
    Any resolution with the aspect ratio of 16:9 (1,78:1) should work!!! The game developers are to blame that they write sloppy software and don't support all the resolutions the gfx is capable of via Windows drivers...
     

Share This Page

Loading...