Question Connecting a passive subwoofer to my Yamaha AV receiver

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by WizardsNipple, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. WizardsNipple

    WizardsNipple
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks, first post on this forum. I have a yamaha RX-v673 av reciever I have been given Samsung surround sound speakers which came part of an all in one system where the DVD player powered the subwoofer. My subwoofer is passive and I'm aware it needs to be powered by an amp to work with my Yamaha reciever. I've bought a cheap 100w amplifier from ebay item number 222780375220 if you're interested. My question is can I just use the phono cable going from the sub output on my av reciever, going to let's say the right input on the 100w amp then just use the right speaker output of the amp going to the subwoofer?

    I've done loads of research but my brain is fried. I'm new to home theater and im trying to do it on a budget I don't want to buy a new subwoofer I'd like to try and get my passive one working. Everything else works great and sounds half decent to say there is no sub connected. Please help me.

    Many thanks!
     
  2. WizardsNipple

    WizardsNipple
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just attached 2 pictures, one of my av rreceive and one of the 100w amp.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74,732
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +24,989
    Sounds as if it should be fine - but what model of surround set/sub is it - sometimes they allow direct connection to the AV Amp with a passthrough for the speakers ?
     
  4. WizardsNipple

    WizardsNipple
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi the model number for the system the speakers originally came with was HT-TZ325 I'm guessing the subwoofer is just literally a 4 inch driver in a wooden box. I'm just worried about if my av receiver will automatically seperate and send the lower frequencies only to the sub and if the amp will work the way I'm hoping.
     
  5. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74,732
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +24,989
    I still think it should be OK
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice