Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

connecting a new device to my pc

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by kronenbourg316, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. kronenbourg316

    kronenbourg316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    hi


    can anybody help me out here

    i have bought a new dvd-rw drive for my pc and have no way off connecting it to my motherboard , the motherboard i got has 2 IDE connectors 1 is for my cd&dvd drives ansd the other is for my HDD
    now i got this new dvd-rw drive and havent got a ide cable i can connect it with

    is there anyway i can connect this drive without having to take out one of my drives or get a new motherboard

    many thanks

    Chris
     
  2. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Do you know about slave/masters? If you have two IDE connectors on the motherboard you can connect upto 4 IDE devices. What have you got connected at the moment?
     
  3. kronenbourg316

    kronenbourg316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    i dont know a lotabout slaves/masters

    my motherobard has got 2 IDE slots

    IDE1 ( connects 2 HDD)
    IDE2 ( connects 2 cd/dvd drives)

    just need a way of connecting my other drive
     
  4. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    Why not take out your CD and DVD drive? Every DVD writer ive seen will play DVD's/CD's and also write to both.
     
  5. dapex

    dapex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    why would you want or need 3 cd/dvd devices. If you do hvae 4 IDE devices already then simply remove one of the current cd drives. The new dvd should do the same as the old one you remove

    Dave
     
  6. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    You can't if you have 2 hard drives and 2 optical drives. You must be clearer, what is connected? If you only have 1 optical drive, then connection is simple. List the drives you have connected.
     
  7. kronenbourg316

    kronenbourg316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    the reason i want 3 drives is that my dvdrw only writes at 16 speed and my new cdrw writes at 52 speed therefore i am saving time

    greedy i know :rolleyes:
     
  8. kronenbourg316

    kronenbourg316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    IDE 1 Has 160gb & 80gb HDD
    IDE 2 Has DVD-ROM & DVDRW

    got an extra CDRW to fit
     
  9. dapex

    dapex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    to be honest I dont think you can do it. You may have to biter the bullet and remove one of the older drives.
     
  10. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    The only thing to do is make one of the drives a USB device. You maybe able to find an external 5.25 drive bay with IDE interface. Or does your motherboard have SATA ports?
     
  11. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a spare PCI slot you could buy another IDE controller card. They cost about £15 iirc.

    You could then have up to another 4 devices, assuming your PSU can support that lot!


    Dave
     
  12. kronenbourg316

    kronenbourg316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    the EIDE card is a good option , i have just had a look and they are under £10 on ebuyer

    thanks to everybody for there advice :thumbsup:
     
  13. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    A solution in just over an hour, not bad.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice