1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting 8ohm speakers to a 6ohm device

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Jon Weaver, Oct 25, 2002.

  1. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    My new TV has a small 8W amp at 6ohm.

    Say I put on some 50W 8ohm speakers, what will happen?

    Would there be enough power to drive them? Could it damage the TV?

    Any info on this is appreciated

    Jon
     
  2. mattr

    mattr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Near Camberley
    Ratings:
    +19
    AFAIK that's perfectly safe - just don't drive the TV to distortion as that could damage the speakers. You only have to worry when trying to drive a lower impediance load than the amp is rated for as too much current is drained (I=V/R and all that) or something like that.
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    normally i would say it would all be fine, but we are talking about an amp within a tv, so there is every likelyhood that the specs are bloated and not what they say........it shouldnt do any harm, but be careful with volume until you are sure.

    ad
     
  4. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    Its worse than that.. This isn't an ordinary TV.. We are talking 'Plasma'.

    So.. I can't afford to do this, if there is the slightest risk of doing some harm!
     
  5. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    You really should have no problems, so long as you keep the volume moderate. That said, im not going to tell you to do it in case im wrong! Just hope for someone highly knowledgable to reply!

    ad
     
  6. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +639
    There is little danger of me ever turning it up loud.. I am only using the speakers for 'normal' TV watching..

    If I want it load, I will turn on my Amp and Surround setup.
     
  7. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    As others have said proceed with cation and you *should* be ok.

    This opinion does not imply any sort of guarantee ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...