1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting 2 component cables

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Monkey Alan, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
  2. neil68

    neil68
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It won't cause any problems at all. I find a bit of electrical tape around the joint stops it coming undone or working loose!

    Neil.
     
  3. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Good idea, thanks! :thumbsup:
     
  4. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just bear in mind that this connector is almost definatly not 75ohm, and will be introducing an impedance miss-match. shouldn't really affect you that much, but this can affect video levels and above all, video quality. This would be a shame if you have spent out on expensive RCA cables.

    Something to keep in mind!

    Gareth.
     
  5. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    How do you know its not 75ohm? Is there a 75ohm one I can get?
     
  6. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Good question.... I dont know! Im sure they would be expensive to get anyway, judging by the price of 75ohm RCAs.

    I run BNCs with my componant cable... and 75ohm bnc couplers are easy to come by!

    I would suggest giving it a go for the sake of a £5er and see if there is any noticable difference with the extra join in the loop. The difference in your situation may be so small, it will no doubt be ok. YUV is a robust signal by design, and the main difference you would get (if any) is less detail with high end loss from the luminance signal, which is where all the detail is.

    Go "suck it and see"! :smashin:

    Gareth.
     
  7. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Ok thanks, I had some bnc connecters come with one of my cables, I just need to get 3 female ones and I'll give it ago. :smashin:
     
  8. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    But remember, this will only be worth it of your 2 x componant cables are true 75ohm RCAs...

    Gareth.
     
  9. neil68

    neil68
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Surely, if you convert a phono to BNC add an inline BNC and convert it back again you will creat more resistance than if you just used the inline phono adapter???


    Neil. :confused:
     
  10. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    We are talking impedance resistance, Rather than what you are refering to!
    Also, Did you know that all video I/Ps have a 75ohm resistor actross the screen and centre conductor? (small bit of trivia) :)

    If the RCAs are 75 ohm, then all should be ok on a short run like this.

    Gareth.
     
  11. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,142
    No such thing! Cables yes and BNC's connectors as you have discussed previously yes! But RCA connectors no!
    The Canares that Mark uses in his power buy section are supposedly considered to come closest but RCA were never meant to be Video connectors!
     
  12. Member 34135

    Member 34135
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Those adapters will do the job but you can buy them much cheaper.
     
  13. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    To be honest, Im going by the "sales blurb" on the £30 RCA plugs which some people are claiming are 75ohm (Im not stupid enough to do it though), cheaper to buy BNC and RCA adapter @ £3 per end (If I had to pay at all! :rotfl: )
     

Share This Page

Loading...