1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connect VCR to amp?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by mevetts, Aug 3, 2004.

  1. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    How do people generally connect their VCRs to their amps?

    Will amps 'convert' the sound into 5.1 from VCR?

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  2. jasper_mccrea

    jasper_mccrea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    A prologic IIx amp will convert pro-logic from a suitable tape to 6.1. I think most people channel everything through the amp.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    an amp with logic 7 will make 7.1 or 5.1 from a stereo VCR /tape prologic 2 will give surrund sound. most VCR will have audio output, or use a scart break out cable
     
  4. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for the replies. Mr Hornydragon sir, when you say 'audio output' do you mean stereo audio out. My VCR has these as I am running the stereo sound through my hi-fi.

    What is a 'scart break out cable'?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    MR??? DO hornydragons have gender????
    Yeah you just need to hook them into amp as you would hiFi and select the processing ode that please's you.
     
  6. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well.....thought I would be polite!

    Does the Pio VSX-C301-S support these connections?
     
  7. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    What about video connections then? Does anybody use the in/out capabilities of their amp? Is it even useable?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes the video switching on scart (forgot about that ) is very good, all you actually need is scart from VCR amp and scart from amp to TV!
    PS i was winding you....
     
  9. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    .....UP!!!!!! lol

    So I could run a scart from my VCR to the amp and then from them amp to the tv?

    What are your thoughts on the Onkyo TX-SR-500-E, seems a decent first timers amp!
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    cant do the scart thing with it! pio 301 and 500 are pretty much the only entry level amps that will! otherwise wiith the Onkyo etc need to use analogue stereo interconnects as explained above.
     
  11. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Not really. You can get some surround sound from stereo or DPL (Dolby Pro-Logic) sources though by using either DSP modes (that most amps have) or from more clever algorithms like DPLII(x), DTS Neo6, Logic7 (L7), CSS2 or whatever they are called.

    The ".1" is however usually only achieved by means of bass-management, i.e. the DSP does not create a discrete LFE.

    You can bypass the amp for video use (usefull if you want to use RGB as most amps do not switch that) and connect the stereo outputs to the AV amp. Else you would need Scart to RCA adapter cables, either terminating into composite + audio R&L (for standard VCRs) or S-Video + audio R&L (for S-VHS VCRs).
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Pio 301 will switch 3 scarts to TV RGB fullsupported so if going for that amp then best option is to go for scart.
     
  13. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the advice, but for some reason the Onkyo TX-SR500 is drawing me. It seems to have good enough specs? Any thoughts, suggestions or preferances?

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  14. SurferDude

    SurferDude
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked out the Onkyo's before ultimately buying my Marantz and thought they were a good little AV Receiver. The only obvious downside was the power drop when driving all 5 channels. But even so, they give a nice enveloping soundstage and the 601 that I was looking at even had multi-zone.

    As for the video through the amp question, I've decided to do this for my devices. Simple reason was that I only have one video-in on the TV but have 3 different video devices. So I take them all in to the AV Receiver then the one out from the receiver to the TV. I select the device I want to play on the receiver and don't have to worry about unplugging/plugging devices or manual selectors. Unfortunately, my TV only takes the single composite cable and not component so for me it was an easy decision. Had it taken component I would have probably driven it direct from my DVD/SACD multi player and not through the amp.. :)

    Cheers
     
  15. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Surferdude.

    Narrabeen.......I'm an ex-resident of Manly!

    When you say there was a drop in power when driving all speakers are you still able to crank them up enough to get a loud sound? I don't miond it is not deafening (spelling!).

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  16. SurferDude

    SurferDude
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark,

    For most normal household applications the TX-SR501 will do the job, but it is an entry level receiver. If you want to know what its capable of you're best off dropping in to a dealer and have them demo it on a set of speakers you'd be happy to buy down the track. If you like the outcome, buy it!

    But be warned, they'll probably start walking you through your alternatives and you might catch the upgrade bug before you've even got that first receiver.

    IMO, you'd be pretty chuffed with the TX-SR501. Its not a powerhouse but it gives a nice enveloping soundstage and gets some pretty rave reviews from most of the mags. The sound wouldn't be deafening, but plenty load enough for most.

    P.S. Weather's a bit chilly in Narrabeen at the mo' at around 18C max. But even so, the surfs still great and I'm only 5 minutes walk from the beach. I can see Long Reef from the top deck of my house and its a pretty picture to wake up to every day :)

    Cheers,
     
  17. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks surferdude. I am very jealous, stuck in an office with miserable rain outside (and it's supposed to be our summer!).

    The receiver should fit the bill, so can't wait!

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...