Connect PS2 to HDTV to enable progressive scan.

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by EDJ2, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. EDJ2

    EDJ2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, here's the deal.

    Got a HDTV for christmas and I want to connect my PS2 (old fat version) to it to enable progressive scan. However the thing is, the TV hasn't got component input ports. Does using RGB Scart support progressive scan? But I've read there's a problem playing dvd's with it (green screen?), and some TVs do not support RGB Scart right? The Tv has a vga input, aswell as HDMI. Is there some kind of adapter available so i can use component cables?

    Any advice will be appreciated!!
     
  2. fallenangle

    fallenangle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    RGB SCART on the PS2 has copying prevention protection and will give you the green screen with DVDs. There are ways round this but most cables which offer a solution simply switch the RGB off giving you an inferior Composite connection for DVD use.

    RGB can be converted to Component and visa versa but it requires an expensive (£70+) converter box.

    Your TV's VGA connection (being analogue like Component) may be able to accept a Component input direct but you'd have to check the TV's specifications to find out if this is the case. If so a VGA to (female socket) Component cable can be found at many cable suppliers like Maplin, TVcables, Amazon etc. If the VGA is not Component friendly, again, a converter would be required at similar cost to the RGB one mentioned.

    These converters cost more than many medium price DVD player with progressive scan which will likely give better PQ (picture quality) than the PS2 for DVD use anyway. You'd be daft to go that converter route.

    BTW only a few PS2 games actually support progressive scan the rest will either display at 576i or 480i through Component (just like RGB and of similar quality) depending on whether the game is running at 50Hz or 60Hz where that option is provided.

    So, unless your TV's VGA socket supports Component, I believe your best choice would be to forget about using the PS2 for DVDs unless you're happy with the Composite PQ your TV gives. Otherwise I'd buy a decent cheap DVD player.

    If I was you I'd ask this question again on the other forums like the specialist cable, DVD or TV ones. Somebody may have an alternative solution I hadn't considered.
     
  3. Bigdaddyt

    Bigdaddyt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just gotten a viewsonic 3752w and it is supposed to be able to do 480p and 720p. My PS2 is hooked up with composite (just the 1 yellow conenctor for video) and when I enable progressive scan on Guitar Hero, it doesn't show anything. Do I need to use a different interface?

    I see on Ebay the have component (tv has 1 set) and HDMI (tv has 3). My issue is that GH3 menus are unreadable in widescreen mode and everyhting else is set ok. DVDs look good (S-Video), PC is awesome (D-Sub), and SDTV even looks alright. Just my PS2 has cast a shadow on the new TV.

    Editted*** BTW, I am sorry to say, I am totally confused regarding the whole SCART terminology. There isn't any mention of SCART on my TV. It does have component (3 plugs for video and 2 more for audio), and 3 HDMI inputs. I cannot actually find any explicit references to progressive display in the manual, other the format supported. I do not have any other high quality components to test with.

    Thanks for any replies.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008
  4. Spinke

    Spinke
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Ratings:
    +608
    You can't do progressive scan over composite, coupled with that composite is the worst interface you could use for video to your tv.

    If you have a spare component input as you say, I would get some cables and try that out. If not, RGB scart would be your best option (post up your TV model if you're unsure what scart options are available to you).
     
  5. Bigdaddyt

    Bigdaddyt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a viewsonic N3752w. I am using composite now, but I am switching to a MadCatz Y/Pr/Pb cable. I read someone is using a hdmi connection (but the only cables I saw are ps3). So I await the cables from ebay. I also hooked up rabbit ears and got CBC HD (5-1). It came in at 1080i and look amazing. I am looking at a big antenia.

    :D


    The component cable arrived, and now Guitar Hero, and Rock Band look great. I can see the star notes clearly and menus are readable. Huge difference at 480P.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2008
  6. Bigdaddyt

    Bigdaddyt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got the cable, Component by Mad Catz. Fixed issues I had with Guitar Hero3.
    Progressive scan for GH3, RockBand, GodOfWar 2 is very nice. Big difference for my poor eyes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...