1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connect 2 amps to 1 pair of speakers!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by andyh41, May 7, 2005.

  1. andyh41

    andyh41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Grinstead
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    I've got separate hifi amp and AV receiver which I use with the same pair of front speakers. Does anyone know of a switchbox that will allow the connection of both amps to the one set of speakers? I've tried using the amp for the front channels by connecting with the reciever pre outs but I couldn't get rid of an earth loop and it sort of unbalanced the sound anyway. I don't use the hifi half as much as I used to as I can't be bothered to swap over the cables. Any ideas gratefully received.

    Andy.
     
  2. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,241
    I have a rather fancy switch box, my power amp actually has two separate inputs, one of which is connected to my dedicated stereo preamp and the other to the pre-outs from the AV Receiver.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. rjstott

    rjstott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recommend you don't attempt this at all. Any cross coupling of amps by accident could be a disaster. Why can't you transfer the input devices from the Hi-Fi amp to the A/V?
     
  4. andyh41

    andyh41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Grinstead
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes I could just connect the cd player to the receiver but I still want to use the hifi amp for cd listening as it's much better. I know QED used to sell a suitable switching device, but it's no longer produced. If I use a purpose made device I can't see that it would be a risk to the electronics.
     
  5. shadowlight

    shadowlight
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. geoff66

    geoff66
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can get what appears to be the same box at Maplin for £9.99. I have one and it has 120ohm resistors connected across the non-live pair. Just to be safe I ensure that both amps are off before switching.
     
  7. andyh41

    andyh41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Grinstead
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys that seems to be what I need. Geoff66, can you tell if the sound is degraded at all by using the box?
     

Share This Page

Loading...