1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conker - Infuriating...

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by AgentCool, Aug 30, 2005.

1. AgentCool

AgentCool

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +184
    I've been playing 'Conker: Live & Reloaded' recently and have once again realised why I hardly ever play games nowadays; it's just unbelievably difficult in places. Whilst I've got to chapter 6 (out of 9) I'm up to a point where it has become so shockingly tough that I nearly put my window through with the controller. I don't know if anyone is familiar with it but the lava surfing bit on the needlessly drawn-out caveman chapter is quite possibly the most difficult thing I have ever come across in a game and I've been playing for 15 years. Really it shouldn't be that difficult, I mean the course is short and can be easily remembered. However, the level is overloaded with glitches and a frame-rate that can't keep up with the speed ('Burnout'-fast). Not only that but the handling isn't exactly responsive.

It seems to me that more and more video game designers are content with making a game ludicrously difficult to extend its lifetime. I'd much prefer to play an easy game, even if it wasn't too long, over something that is the equivalent of having someone punch you in the face repeatedly. I think the last game I played that I really loved was 'Rez' some 3 or 4 years ago on the Dreamcast. Not a single Xbox game with the exception of the first 'Halo' hasn't managed to infuriate me by getting to a point of being overly difficult. I wouldn't mind but it takes a lot to get me mad.

'Conker' was a game I had very much been looking forward to but now after trying this lava surfing bit literally 30 times I doubt I'll pick it up again to finish it. The vein on my forehead is fit to burst...

2. acemelhaz

acemelhaz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13