Confused Sky+ Newbie

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by bbasra, Dec 23, 2004.

  1. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +41
    I want to purchase sky+ but dont want to pay that much and am rather confused.

    The main reason i want it for is that i can

    record to the harddrive for when i am out
    have better picture quality
    connect the digital optical output from sky+to my av reciever via optical and enjoy Dolby Digtial.

    Can i just buy the sky+ box (Pace one as the amstrad seems to have a lot of problems), if so, from where, and just plug it in and start using it.

    do i really have to pay the extra money a month for the sky+ subscription. I am currently on the £20 family package.

    Thanks.
     
  2. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,029
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +148
    If you want Sky+ capability, yes you do.
     
  3. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +41
    that is fine, but i am not going to ever watch tv on one channel and record on another.

    can't i just buy the box on its own, use the same cables from my current sky digital box and sky card and just use the optical out and record onto the harddisk.

    why do i need to contact sky for?

    i really dont fancy paying an extra £10/pm plus installation charges.
     
  4. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,194
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,826
    You need to subscibe to 2 premium channels to have the £10 waived . I don't know what the minimum package is to achieve the waiver , but someone will :smashin:

    You also need a second feed from the dish , to utilise the full capabilty of + .2 feeds will enable you to record 2 programmes at the same time , while you are out or indeed watching one while recording another.
    bear in mind,DD is only available on Movies 1/2/3 and occasionally Disney .
    atb
    JS

    I
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    Seriously?
    You never did that sort of thing with a VCR then:)
     
  6. dsk19s

    dsk19s
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    £30 is the min pkge to get sky + subs waivered you do need to subscribe to sky+ though for recording as this is how the enablement comes through
     
  7. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    you will have to pay sky the £10 or upgrade your package to turn on the harddrive recording function on, if you dont your sky + box will just act like a normal digibox
     
  8. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +41
    but can i still use the optical out for DD?

    Also, The programs which are not DD, which format does the reciever pick it up as?

    Also, which sky+ system is the best one to go for. I may just purchase it for now and use only the Optical Out for DD as this is the primary reason i am going for this in the first place.
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    As the only programmes currently broadcast in DD are the movies on the Sky Premium Movies channels 1 to 4 and the occasional movie on The Disney Channel, you won't get much DD on the £20 family package. The optical output relays ordinary PCM stereo when not receiving a DD programme.
     
  10. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +41
    How different is the ordinary PCM stereo when not receiving a DD programme to using the standard RCA/Phono on a normal sky box, which is how my current sky box connected to my reciever.
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    The audio quality is very good via the RCA phonos, Dolby surround (PL/PL2) works very well given a suitable amp. The quality of the PCM audio via the optical of course is totally dependent upon the DAC in your amplifier so impossible to say how your system would perform, given a decent amp you should hear a difference but it's very subjective:)

    As stated, only SKY's premium movie channels and Disney carry DD5.1 audio so if you subscribed to SKYmovieworld (inc free disney) you would qualify for the "free" SKY+ service anyway.
     
  12. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +41
    In that case, i dont think i really need it then, the main reason i wanted it was because of DD. The audio quality is still very good via my RCA phonos, Dolby surround (PL/PL2) works quite well as i have a Denon 3805 Reciever, but this does not compare to using DD via a DVD.

    I think i'll wait till the price drops or some special offer or something.
     
  13. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you want HD storage have you thought about getting a HDD/dvd Recorder and use thatwith Sky? Connect it to the digibox and use it just like a vhs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...