1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused over Progressive Scan

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by scrowe, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +191
    I've tried a few web searches and read a few posts, but everything seems contradictory.

    I'm feeding my Pio 505-XDE Plasma with a 3-year old Techtronics-modded Toshiba SD-210E DVD via a decent set of Lektropacks component leads.

    Being currently able to pick up a new Toshiba SD-240E for £50 complete with a multi-region handset hack, is it worth upgrading for the benefit of newer technology and the bonus of progressive scan?

    Their seem to be 2x schools of thought

    a) Progressive scan is of no benefit on Plasmas as they already do their own progressive scan, and it could be the Plasma does better progressive scanning than the DVD player anyway?

    b) Progressive scan is 'intended' for feeding Plasma screens via component leads, and this is the best possible picture, unless you go the HDMI route.

    For £50 it's worth the money to me if there is any picture improvement. So, will it be worth it?
     
  2. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    to my knowledge the plasma will do its own prog scan but if the dvd player does a better job then use the dvd.how you find that out is a bit of trial and error though.
     
  3. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +191
    Thanks,

    Anyone have any experience of progressive dvd with plasmas?

    Or any other words of wisdom on the subject?
     
  4. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    No words of wisdom but my best results are achieved with my
    dvd player and viera connected with component, but with progressive scan
    on the recorder set to 'off'. Ive toggled through turning it on and
    off for for a bit now, and this is the best option for me!
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    If you have a good DVD switch it on, if you have a cheap one or a digital scaler turn it off. Plasmas do their own deinterlacing, which might or might not be better than any given DVD player. I think in your case I'd put the £50 towards a proper HDMI player, don't bother upgrading to another basic player. For god's sake it's a £4000 display, what are you doing with a £50 DVD player!
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Progressive scan doesn't seem to make any difference to my Hitachi 42PD5300, but it makes a big difference to my Benq 6200 projector.
     
  7. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +191
    It's all I can afford after the £4,000 {:)

    Seriously, up to now, on both my old 46" RP, and new XDE Plasma, the SD-210E (£200 at the time) DVD Player picture has been all around excellent, and £600 is an awful lot to pay just to turn a component-fed display into HDMI, for what may only be a 5-10% perceptible improvement. However £50 for a 1-5% improvement I could do quite easily, especially as the SD-240E gets 5/5 on PQ in all the reviews. I also wanted to keep the HDMI free for Sky's HDTV (hopefully end of this year).
     
  8. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +191
    After spotting acouple of other threads, I eventually went for the Pioneer DV-575A from Richer Sounds at £110.

    Reviews consider this player worthy of a £500-600 price tag, in terms of PQ & AQ, but the best thing about it is compatibiity, including MP3 & DiVx playback.

    As a bonus, it's nice to have matching components, Plasma, Amp and now DVD.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    will the de-interlacer in a £50 DVD player be better than the one in your £4k plasma???
    NO
    consider a pio 688 or 868 DVD player to see some real improvements..........
     
  10. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    The samsung HD-945 (£180) would of given you close performance to the pionner 868 which is £800 via HDMI
     
  11. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The output from a DVD player will be non-interlaced, so it doesn't need a de-interlacer. It's really a case of how the digital infomation is read out of memory in the player.

    It's better to start with a non-interlaced signal, than it is to have an interlaced signal and have to de-interlace it. Just one more stage where errors can creep in, and can be eliminated.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Nick what are you on? DVD is a video storage system and is stored in interlaced format hence needs the deinterlacer...............
     
  13. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
    phillfyspoon - just read your sig , u got all that kit and still only 18 :eek: :eek: your mummy and daddy rich or something !!? :laugh: :laugh:
     
  14. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +191
    Possibly, but I'm anticipating using the HDMI eventually for Sky at the end of the year. Also, I really stretched for the £110, £180 is a bit beyond, and their are a few other plus-points for the Pio, including compatibility and matched components to my current AV stack.
     
  15. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    It all depends on the source. MPEG can be either interlaced or non-interlaced. See here for more info. MPEG encoding works much better with non-interlaced.
     

Share This Page

Loading...