1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused Newbie

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by quattro, Jul 22, 2004.

1. quattro

quattro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    Been browsing this forum for a few months and am about to take the plunge so to speak and purchase a Plasma, I'm looking at the Panasonic pw6 but after speaking to a guy at AV-sales he advises i also upgrade my Pioneer DVD home cinema system as it doesn't have RGB Scart just s-video,Yellow and then the red and white audio plugs, allowing me to connect my Xbox,Video,and freeview box all through the Pioneer.
    The guy says it will work but the picture quality will be below what it should be and has suggested i buy a Jamo system to replace the Pioneer.
    Why is this the case?

Like i said i'm quite new to all this and would like some advice as why my current system will not deliver the quality as its ok on my Sony CRT.
    Cheers
    Jonah

2. zedzed

zedzed

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Quattro - I'm relatively new to this too ... but for what it's worth:

It sounds like your pioneer only supports the "lowest" two forms of video connection - composite (yellow cable) and s-video (also refered to as S-VHS).

Whem moving to a plasma these are typically much larger than a normal TV - and so you are more likely to notice any imperfections in the picture quality. RGB Scart is the next step up in terms of picture quality - which is why it's being recommended.