1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused - marantz 5300 vs yamaha 630

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by zippo4, Nov 6, 2002.

Tags:
  1. zippo4

zippo4
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just found that I have slightly more cash than I expected at the end of the month and have decided to get into this home cinema lark!

I'll be the first to admit to being a complete novice and having read all the comments I accept that ultimately the proof of the pudding is in the listening. If you like it then buy it as it were.

However.....that still leaves me a mite confused. I'm looking for an amp that is a high speced as possible (dunno why, I'll probably never use half the features but its nice knowing that they are there:)

Home cinema is the main reason for buying but until I get a decent HI FI amp I will use it to listen to music so it must be good/competent in the music area too.

Having trawled through the posts here I am torn between the yamaha 630 and the marantz 5300. Is the Marantz 5300 a newer version fo the 5200? or 4200? If so whats different about it from previous versions?

I have heard that the marantz can handle music better than the yamaha? Does anyone have an opionion on this? In a recent magazine test the marantz 4200 only just lost out to the yamaha 'cos it was slightly dated in its spec. Would it be safe to say that the new updated 5300, with the inclusion of dts es etc, would actually be a better machine than the yamaha? And a better choice musically?

Sorry to ramble on but I would really appreciate any feedback as this cash is burning a hole in my pocket and it needs to be spent before my other half gets ideas about curtains/furniture/decorating/clothes/zzzzzzzzzz.....

Cheers

Paul

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906