1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused by all the models

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Daneel, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    I will be looking at pre/pros in the near future and am considering a Tag. Having a read of the website and a number of threads i am still totally confused about what models are what, how much they are worth and what they are capable of.

    I am after good movie performance and excellent stereo sound. Should I be looking at Tag at all (the impression I get is they are good for movies, not so hot on music)?

    How do the Tags stack up against the competition? Lexicon/Arcam AV8/various Meridian which also confuse the hell out of me etc.

    When I get around to buying one i'll be looking at spending around £1500 maybe £2k if I feel it's justified. I will almost certainly be going 2nd hand.
     
  2. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    There are three processors in the TMA range, with different available configurations for each.
    1.)Entry Level AV30R, basic 5.1 version RRP £1700.00, fully loaded 7.1 £2300.00
    2.)Mid range AV32R single processor THX Ultra, basic 5.1 version RRP £2550.00, fully loaded 7.1 version £3000.00
    3.)Upper mid range AV32R dual processor THX Ultra2, £4000.00
    4.)Top of range AV192R THX Ultra2, depending on spec from £6000.00 to £18000.00
     
  3. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Daneel
    Do a Google search on
    "TAG McLaren Audio on sale"
    and you'll see that plenty of dealers are offloading their TAG gear. You'll get an AV32R from £1500 upwards. Got for the 192 bypass model at least or any model upwards
     
  4. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    AV32R makes very nice sounds in stereo. The base 5.1 THX is far better than people make out. You could look for one of those if you really do only want stereo and movies.

    However, £1500 should get you a AV32R 192 7.1 with 5.1 bypass and probably DAB module nowadays. I expect prices may fall significantly in the coming months so it may be wise to hang on.

    I'll be after that model soon but with the recent news I'll be holding off to see what happens.

    Won't stop me buying a Tag though as they are simply fantastic processors. I would want to know that I can at least get it repaired though, if not upraded. I suspect that there will be 3rd party repairers coming along anyway.

    As for the competition. For stereo the AV8 may have the edge, although I have yet to hear the AV32R dual processor. Either way, there's little in it and you would be pleased with either. They differ mainly in style, rather than quality. I preffer the Tag sound. I have little experience of Lex or Meridian so won't comment.
     
  5. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    I ALWAYS listen to my CDs with TMSurround 5 + Sub these days. The biggest benefit in sound comes from the centre channel in my opinion.
    A friend has a great sounding Meridian set-up and he always listens in Tri-Field.
    I've also heard Lex's Logic7 and again 2 channel music benefits from it my opinion.
    Give it a go!
     
  6. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Neither Arcam or Lexicon have TMREQ though, which in my opinion makes for a big performance gap. I understand the new Meridian G series do but dont know if its as sophisticated as TMAs.
     
  7. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks for the info guys, things are clearer now. Just one more thing:

    4.)Top of range AV192R THX Ultra2, depending on spec from £6000.00 to £18000.00

    What the hell can you add to take it up to £18k!?

    [Edit] TMREQ?

    EQ in some form would be very nice. I think I would really miss it (I know it's basic on the Pioneer but it does wonders for clearing up a poorly positioned centre channel for example.
     
  8. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    correction to above! I understand Meridians G series has a parametric equalizer (obviousely not TMREQ)
     
  9. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Daneel

    Again check the web and you may get a 192 "fully loaded" for £5K-£6K
     
  10. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Can anyone elaborate on TMREQ?

    I googled but the link to the Tag site that explains it isn't working. Is it PEQ? How many bands? Does it eliminate the need for a BFD for the sub? Is it available on all the models?
     
  11. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Daneel
    It's available only for 32DS and 192. As I only have the 32SP I haven't used it myself.
    However the general feeling is that you can't do without it! It really is that good apparently.
    You also need the TMREQ Wizard which was downloadable FOC from the TAG website (which I did, just in case..). You also need a mic or SPL meter feeding a decent soundcard into a computer and analysing software to plot the curves.
    Once that's been done you load the calibrations into the 32DP or 192 and Bob's yer auntie
     
  12. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Daneel, I have it on my AV32R DP and was the first person to have it professionaly set up by TMA themselves in my home. In a nut shell TMREQ is a full band width 24bit 96khz parametric equalizer with up to eight filters per channel (centre, sub etc) What it does is it flattens the in room response of all your speakers almost completely removing all room resonances ( frequency peaks and troughs) and "bass boom" giving an incredible distortion free clean sound. It works 100%! and in my opinion is the most undersold feature that put TMA well ahead of most of the competition.
     
  13. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Daneel

    You can get a AV32bp192 for £1695 at oxfordaudio.co.uk. I'm sure with a bit of haggling could knock a bit off that
     
  14. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks guys, you have been very helpful, I just need to have a listen now :)
     
  15. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    or a whole raft of things at audiodesigns.co.uk. A AV32 bp 7.1 for £1645 or a 192 with PSM for £5899. If I had the money I'd buy it!
     
  16. sam3k

    sam3k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone seen any AV32r-DP's going cheep? Preferably in black?

    Thanks.
     
  17. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I doubt they will get any more expensive. I'm holding off for a month or four. See what the support situation turns out like and then buy into an obsolete brand.
     
  18. liamjf

    liamjf
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +8
    Could anyone explain what all the letters actually stand for? I assume the 192 is 192KHz dacs but what about BP, DS, etc stand for? I'd like to but an upgradable model (I understand the AV30R isn't upgradable) thats good with stereo and movies (possible stereo bypass?) but dont need/want more than 5 channels or radio etc. Which model should I look at? Is there anywhere that list all the models available (now and previously) and approximate cost of upgrade path?

    Liam.
     
  19. cskates

    cskates
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    AV32R - basic model, can be upgraded to PL2 in software.
    + or EX - 7.1 version, most recent AV32Rs are 7.1
    DAB - optional internal DAB tuner
    192 - Updated 192kHz DACs
    bp - 6 channel/3 stereo bypass, includes the 192kHz DACs
    DP or DS - new SHARC DSPs, can do room EQ and PL2x among other new things. A new DP processor is 7.1, has the bypass and new DACs.

    If the unit has been upgraded from it's original spec then it can be pretty much any combination of the above. My AV32R has the new DACs and dual processor upgrade, but is 5.1 and has no bypass.
     
  20. liamjf

    liamjf
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for your reply mate, that made it a lot clearer. :)
    I take it then that the bypass is for DVD-A and SACD and that standard stereo bypass is included in all models (for connection of a analogue cdp for example?)
    How much (roughly, I understand things are changing!) are the upgrades to 192 DACS and the Sharc DSPS? I am wondering if it is better to get a more basic AV32R (poss 2nd hand) and upgrade or cheaper to buy a 192 DS/DP to start with !? :confused:

    Cheers, Liam.
     
  21. cskates

    cskates
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    The bypass can be configured as 5.1 inputs or 3 stereo pairs, they bypass all processing so you can't use any surround modes. The normal analogue inputs on the AV32R are digitised at 20bit 96kHz, though IIRC this drops to 48kHz when using Pro Logic or PL2 (the DP doesn't have this limitation).

    It's very likely that it would be cheaper to buy a 2nd hand AV32R with the spec you want rather than upgrading. The DP upgrade was about £1500 if I remember.
     
  22. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Tell me, can you assign the 5.1 bypass to an input, like 'CD' for instance? I mean, if I want to use the analogue outputs of a CD/SACD player, can I call it CD or does it have to be 'multi in' or something. Also, if it's set to the multi input and you turn it off, will it still be set to that when you turn it back on?

    My Rotel winds me up as I listen to SACD's a lot and have to keep pressing the multi button everytime I switch it on. I prefer a system like on a Denon amp where you can assign the multi input to a partivular channel and it's always there.

    I had a basic AV32R and have been tentatively looking for another with the bypass, maybe even a DP.
     
  23. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    You can name any of the inputs yourself and call them anything you like and you can associate any audio input with any video input. Total flexibility!
     
  24. liamjf

    liamjf
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry for all the questions but do all models have component video in/out?

    Liam.
     
  25. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Only the AV192 doeswith the right options
     
  26. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ok Thunder, thanks. So can I assign both the multi input and the 'CD' coax input to the CD channel. ie. When I set the AV32 to CD it will check for a digital signal and if none is present it will use the 5.1 inputs? That's my ideal setup really so that my SACD player sends CD bitstream to the Tag for decoding but when I play a SACD, as there is no digital signal, it defaults to the 5.1's

    Bit complicated I know but there you go.
     
  27. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Steve,

    The AV32R doesn't switch to the 5.1 input automatically if there's no digital signal present. You need to tell him to do so.;)
     
  28. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    What if I have asssigned the 5.1 input to 'CD'? Or does that mean the CD digital input is no longer assigned to that channel?
     
  29. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    You don't assign the 5.1 input to CD or any other input. You can however rename the 5.1 input to "CD". The 5.1 input is just another analogue input, thus you have to select it.
     
  30. Polecatpete

    Polecatpete
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi guys,

    Following on from the piece on upgrades, I have an AV32 bp192 with 7.1 and was thinking of upgrading to the DP. Are there any disadvantages to having the AV32 upgraded as opposed to buying a DP model? Also, I wondered if anyone knew briefly what process was involved...

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...