• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

confused as hell

landcruiserjohn

Standard Member
hi guys
I want a cinema system.
I dont know what tech terms are like the Sony is warm sounding, what does this mean.
The more I look at Avs the more I get uncertain about a perchase.
At the moment I have nothing other than a TV and a PS3 slim.
Would a good AV and good speakers be lost on me because I am just getting into the world of sound and picture.
Do I need experience of sound to know what is better sound and not just noise.
Its like when two people hear a powerful engine rev and one will say that noise is very loude and the other says that sound is powerful if you know what I mean.
I dont want to spend a lot but equally dont want to buy too cheap only to regreat it from day one.
My local shop will sell what they have and not nessaserely what I need.
The reviews are confusing.
I have been looking at the Sony STRDH800, DenonAVR1910,
Pioneer VSX 1019, and are there other Avs to think about.
I have not got a clue which speakers to pair up to what AV.
cheers
john

Nobber22

Prominent Member
Relax John, it's not as complicated as it all sounds. :)

Bright-sounding vs warm in AV amps isn't really chalk and cheese and you can improve clarity/tame brightness with a set of speakers that has different sound characteristics to your amp.

You're better off starting with a set of speakers as they make more of an impact on the sound you hear. Look at your room, decide what sort of speakers you want eg. sub/sats, floorstanders/bookshelf with sub or no sub, what your other half will allow in her livingroom, etc. Find a budget and (try to) stick to it.