1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused about connections on my XDE 505

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by 6022tivo, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. 6022tivo

    6022tivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +81
    Hello

    I am confused about the Component input on the AV2 on the media box.

    It is labled up as Component (Y, Pr, Pb)


    I will be connecting the Microsoft Xbox 360™ Component HD AV Cable
    Which has both Component Video, Component (Y, Pr, Pb).

    So great I thought, no the same lead in the US is described as Component (Y, Pr, Pb), but for the UK, it says it is RGB??

    So are these the same things?? And will this setup work??

    I am getting confused?
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    It is probably mis-described as RGB. RGB is the type of signal sent by the scart pak not the HD one. Because the colours are Red, Green, Blue, some retailers get confused!!
     
  3. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
  4. stevebrowne

    stevebrowne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. stevebrowne

    stevebrowne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    It also has composite on that cable, maybe you can choose RGBs as well?
     
  7. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Great minds mate, great minds ;)
     
  8. 6022tivo

    6022tivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +81
    Yep, thats the cable. As you can see, the audio LR are on the right.

    http://shop.game.net/ViewProduct.aspx?cat=11273&mid=327030

    The other four have been described as the Yellow, being Full signal composite the other three as RGB, and they are coloured Red Green abd Blue.


    You either use the Yellow, as full composite, or the RGB as component. Some site refer to the Red Green Blue leads as (Y, Pr, Pb), other describe it as RGB?.


    http://www.xequted.com/articles/90.html describe it as RGB,
    also
     
  9. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I imagine in the XBox console you have the option of RGBs or YUV output. You obviously want YUV for HD signals!!

    The next bit of fun is getting audio into the XDE! You will need a scart adaptor for the red and white plugs to plug into the scart input that matches the YUV one (input 3 iirc)
     
  10. 6022tivo

    6022tivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +81
    No the audio bit is simple, the Hi Def AV lead has a optical Tos connector in the plug.

    So my AV amp has a Tos input which connects to a splitter with the xbox cable, and media box in.

    When AV2 (Xbox) is selected on the media box, no audio will be outputted on the Digital Optical output of the media box, so the Amp will pick up via the splitter from the Xbox Optical out.

    No problems, it took a hour or so to work that one out last night.

    Tos splitters are only about £3
     

Share This Page

Loading...