1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused about Component connection

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by albany, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. albany

    albany
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AV receiver that I am considering has Y,Cb,Cr component connectors.

    The monitor and DVD recorder both have Y,Pb, Pr component connectors.

    I have just read various pages on this but am still confused. Some say it will work and yet others say the connection will not work. :blush:

    Anyone know for sure? :lease:

    Many thanks.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    should be fine but model numbers would help mate
     
  3. albany

    albany
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Does DVD direct to Panel work?
     
  5. albany

    albany
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have not bought it yet so don't know. I am researching before dropping the dough.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    never used the monitor you link to so cant say for definate....if signal from DVD works then siganla via amp will work. amp is just a switch.
     
  7. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I assume the labelling on the receiver is incorrect.

    YCrCb is supposed to be a digital video signal but often used for the analog form which is called YPrPb. In fact the MPEG-2 encoding on the DVD is based on YCrCb. Both can be summed under the term 'component' (aka YUV).
     
  8. albany

    albany
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You assume right. The manufacturer advised that it is an analogue connection and mislabeled. Though he thinks the bandwidth is sufficient to carry HDTV signals etc... But that is not relevent to me anyway.

    Thank you both.
     

Share This Page

Loading...