Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

conection problems !!!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by peve3, Mar 9, 2003.

  1. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi there people,
    basically im getting a Hitachi 42PMA400E in a few weeks but im stuck !!
    I understand that it does not have a rgb socket and that i would have to connect rgb scart thorugh the vga slot !! but i would like to run 2 items in the same vga slot them being a PC and XBOX both thorugh componet is that even posible do i need some sort ov vga box or switch any help will be apreciated and any links to a sight where i could buy this device !! thx !!
     
  2. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Could you check the specifications of the Hitachi screen please? For the VGA input we need a "horizontal line frequency" of 15kHz for you to be able to put RGB in via this route. If it is compatible, then using the RGB to Plasma VGA unit (hit the www button below) would be ideal. Otherwise, opt for the RGB to Component converter.

    How to get two devices in to the VGA connector? Try the likes of www.dabs.com for monitor switching device.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  3. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  4. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Those specs say that the screen supports a Horizontal Freq of between 24 - 106kHz. So John's RGB to VGA won't work. Instead you will have to use an RGB to Component convertor as JS suggests.

    James
     
  5. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    cool thx alot all !!
    where will i find such a device and what is a good one to go for i imagine there are loads ov different brand and stuff with diffrent quality cable
     
  6. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi peve3,

    I don't think you would go far wrong with a converter from JST at www.rgbtosvideo.com - you will find a lot of favourable reports on here on John's magic boxes. There are cheaper alternatives available, but cheaper always doesn't mean better!

    Steve
     
  7. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    thx for the help all, now im very happy :D :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice