Condemned Fire Extinguishers

Iccz

Distinguished Member
So, the other day a chap came around the communal office block I work in and slapped some "CONDEMNED" stickers on a few fire extinguishers. They are not in our office but outside in the communal areas etc... I notice they're still sat there with these stickers on.

What is happening with them, I assume they're dead/no longer work or not up to whatever kind of levels they should.

Shouldn't they be replaced ASAP and surely if they are condemned they should be removed immediately?

Anyone clued up on this / the law on it?
(I'm not going to complain to the place - just more curious than anything)

Dancook

Distinguished Member

Attachments

• 200486576-010.jpg
    200486576-010.jpg
    16.9 KB · Views: 150
Last edited:

Badger0-0

Distinguished Member
I'm no expert, but condemned extinguishers are usually just that when they fall below the required charge level.
Or the safety pin has been removed or whatever.

Once they have been tested, they can't be left in use, even though they would probably still work perfectly (albeit for a shorter period than the standards allow).

Hence they'll be taken back, tested, and repaired/recharged/replaced asap (not sure on the law here, but it is probably "as soon as is practically possible" or similar.

Just guesswork :rolleyes:

qwerty321

Distinguished Member
Probably means they are now merely toys, to be played with.

:D

When I was younger I was at a cousins house once and we had some kids chucking stuff over the fence down the bottom of the garden.

One of my older cousins went to his Dad's car (his Dad was a Taxi driver), got the fire extinguisher and hid by the fence. They came round and suprise! :devil:

Chased the little bastards off for good.

eireann10

i would imagine that someone will come back a replace all the ones he has condemed or needs to refill etc.